My friend, insomnia

I would not be nearly so productive a knitter if I did not suffer from insomnia most of the time.  Well… it’s not so much insomnia, as it is my body refusing to follow the same schedule as anyone else’s.  I can sleep, it’s just that never once in my life have I been able to go to be at 10pm and actually fall asleep.  So I’m usually up when other people are asleep, giving me lots of knitting time (fortunately this works out well for me, since I teach at night.)

Here’s what I accomplished on the Britannia sweater last night:

Yes, I know my ribbing has seen better days.  It always looks like that.  Fortunately, it looks just fine when stretched, so I’m not really one to worry.  It’s actually K,P,K in the raised sections, which is why it looks odd unstretched.  I am not a knitting perfectionist.  I am so in love with the RYC Lucury cotton.  I even love the way it smells which is just weird for me.

This morning in my email I received this:

Yes, Berroco has pleased me again.  You can find the pattern here.  This is knit in Bonsai, as most of their free patterns have been lately.  I happen to have exactly the called for amount of Bonsai in my stash.  I may like this better than either of my other pattern choices (from the Bonsai pattern booklet.)  The smallest size is a 33, and I would really prefer a 32, but come on… this is a vest.  It can be fixed.  Yes, they call it a tank, but we all know what it is.  Damn you Berroco… you have my number lately!  There is another tank free this week, which is cute but not for me.

We’re going to Cincinnati tonight.  This weekend will be crazy for me – I have lots of church services, and I’m singing in a recital Saturday night.  But next week I am off – it is Derby week (I’m in Louisville you know) and that’s practically a holiday, right?

6 thoughts on “My friend, insomnia

  1. I see I’m not the only one! I posted the same picture on my blog today. Have you swatched the Bonsai yet? How do you like it?

    BTW I used to be the same way about sleep. I hated going to bed at night almost as much as I hated getting up in the morning. Now that I have a kid I can usually fall asleep much easier but I still hate getting up in the morning :)

  2. mp says:

    Help! I’m knitting a sweater with ribbing (looks similar to how you’re doing yours)that increases with a M1. Everytime I do it-it looks like the purl where it has been increased is going the wrong way or has extra bumps. I tried M1 the other way & now I have holes. Is there another way to increase on a purl? Will it stretch out correctly or…?…

  3. I found you through the Dollar and a Half KAL and had to delurk to say that I’m in Louisville, too, and Derby is definitely a holiday. I knew for sure when my boss told me I got Oaks Day off with pay! Seems a little weird to me, but why would you say no to that?

  4. I love the Berrocco site and sort of can’t believe that all of those patterns are free. I downloaded Badia several days ago and hope to use some SWTC Bamboo to make it.

    Do you have any good Louiville LYS recs? I’ll be there for a week in June–thanks!

  5. Meh — sloppy ribbing blocks out anyhow.
    Is the other Berroco tank the asymmetrical blue one? I’ve been eyeing both of them! :)

    xo, Pam (delurking to identify with the insomnia, having finished a pair of socks at 3:00 this morning)

Leave a Reply

