FO: Perfect Pie Shawl

18 Jul

 

Pattern: Perfect Pie Shawl by Veronique Avery, from Weekend Knitting

Yarn: Elann Pure Alpaca in Jasper, 4.5 balls

Needles: US 10

Notes: This was an easy and quick pattern.  Other than the yarn sub, it was made without alterations.  There is an error in the pattern, and if you decide to make it you should be sure to twist the stitch on all of your M1s in the lace section.  This is the opposite of what the pattern tells you to do, but it will result in a shawl that looks like the one in the book.  Other than that, the pattern was error free and fun!  I bound off in K2P2 rib, following the pattern, and I think it resulted in a nicer bind-off edge than a plain knit bind off. I do have one problem… I think I might be allergic the the yarn.  I haven’t had any skin reaction to it or anything, but it was making me a little stuff while I knit it.  I’m not sure if this might be due to the manufacturing process Elann uses, as I have been sensitive to the sizing they use in some of their cotton yarns.  I will wait and see if it gets better now that it is blocked.  After all, I have made (and frequently worn) an Alpaca sweater before with no problems.  It could even be the time of year, as I always have allergies in late July/August.  It’s hard to say… I will have to wait until the weather is cold enough to wear the shawl, and see how I feel then!

My shawl turned out maybe a tiny bit smaller than the one in the book, but I have decided for the moment to not add an edging.  I don’t really feel like searching for a complimentary yarn, at least not until I see whether I will need to give it away.

 

24 Responses to “FO: Perfect Pie Shawl”

  1. Emily July 18, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    Beautiful! the color is gorgeous on you. what a versatile shape it is too.

  2. Elizabeth July 18, 2007 at 7:04 pm #

    It’s gorgeous. You are so fast! I really hope you turn out not to be allergic to the yarn, because this would be tough to give away.

  3. Charli July 18, 2007 at 7:10 pm #

    Hi, I’m a new reader. I just wanted to tell you that your shawl is beautiful! And thanks for the error warning. I don’t have that book, but I had heard it was good.
    Can’t wait to see what you do next!

    Charli

  4. Heather July 18, 2007 at 7:59 pm #

    Another stellar fo! The color is especially good on you…

  5. Stacey July 18, 2007 at 8:04 pm #

    Nicely done! You make me want to knit it and I have just the yarn for it too!

    Great photo shoot especially on the last pose!

  6. Adrienne July 18, 2007 at 9:04 pm #

    Its beautiful!

  7. Emilee July 18, 2007 at 10:09 pm #

    I love it! It looks very wearable and sophisticated, especially with that pin.

  8. much-adored July 18, 2007 at 10:41 pm #

    gorgeous! i love it closed with the brooch, very ladylike and lovely.

  9. lynne July 19, 2007 at 3:11 am #

    wow your shawl is stunning. Love the look of the brooch as well.

  10. Emma in France July 19, 2007 at 4:36 am #

    Sniff. Yours looks great. Mine is still only 4/5ths done and I started it in February. I just find it so boring to knit. I also didn’t find out about the mistake in the pattern until after I’d reached about 2/5ths so mine’s staying as it is.

  11. lisa July 19, 2007 at 5:46 am #

    very nice, i will have to re-look at that pattern because that is a perfect little shawl to wear for those not too cold nights.

  12. mimosa July 19, 2007 at 6:27 am #

    Hi ! Your blog is great and you make wonderful things ! This shawl is very very beautiful .

  13. Bobbi July 19, 2007 at 7:46 am #

    Beautiful! The color looks great!

  14. Elena July 19, 2007 at 8:02 am #

    Beautiful and smart construction!!

  15. Mary Heather July 19, 2007 at 8:54 am #

    It’s beautiful. Maybe you won’t have to give it away.

  16. Kristin July 19, 2007 at 9:06 am #

    It is really lovely! Good work.

  17. Batty July 19, 2007 at 11:00 am #

    Beautiful shawl! Looks lovely on you.

  18. Yarnfest July 19, 2007 at 4:04 pm #

    I have the book and haven’t been particularly inspired by the shawl. Seeing your finished one makes me want to knit it!!

  19. Romi July 20, 2007 at 12:06 am #

    You look very very lovely. :)

  20. Floderten July 21, 2007 at 6:57 am #

    Beautiful as always. :) And nice pictures, too!

  21. Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) July 21, 2007 at 5:01 pm #

    How lovely! I wouldn’t add an edging. It looks perfect the way it is.

  22. windloop July 21, 2007 at 9:36 pm #

    Is really beautiful!!! Don’t think you need the edging, is simple but elegant.

  23. pamela wynne July 22, 2007 at 8:43 pm #

    I love it! I agree that the edging isn’t necessary — it’s so simple and unfussy as is.

  24. inkandindigo July 26, 2007 at 3:26 am #

    Oooh, that’s gorgeous! I’m not normally a fan of shawls, and have never been motivated to knit one, but that looks utterly fabulous secured with the brooch. Well done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

