whew

Thanks for all the suggestions re: Martha and my gauge issues!  I’ve decided to put it away for now.  I may try it again later in a wool 4-ply yarn, as I don’t seem to have as many issues when knitting with wool as opposed to cotton.  Instead, I’ve finally been able to start Agnes!

Cotton Glace is lovely to work with, and I only had to go down one needle size!  So far I seem to be measuring about what I should be, so hopefully this one will work out!

And never let it be said that I am immune to impulse buys at the craft store.  I’m still working on my Montego bay scarf, but it should be done soon!  I thought it would give me motivation if I got another yarn to make my next scarf with, so I bought some Patons SWS in Natural Pink to make Danica from Knitty.

They didn’t have my first choice color (natural green) but I’m happy with this one.  It is different from my usual colors!  I made Marc a hat last year with SWS and it has held up extremely well.  I don’t really love the hairy quality of the yarn, but it is so lovely and shiny knitted up.  Maybe this will motivate me to finish my current scarf project!

I was looking for Cotton Ease as well, but it was nowhere to be found in Michaels.  Can I just say that Louisville does not have a great selection if you’re searching for basic brands of yarn?  Michaels seems to carry less and less, and now they seem to have rearranged the store again.  Hobby Lobby never has what I want, and we don’t have a Joanne’s or anything.  We do have Ben Franklin, but I do not live near one, and seldom find a chance to venture to either Middletown or Southern Indiana to visit one.

Ah well… tomorrow I will have to visit the craft store again – my Mom, her friend Patti and I are going shopping for ribbon to make pew decorations as well as anything else crafty I have forgotten about.

Work was better today- I am feeling my way around, and starting to understand my responsibilities and what is expected of me!

13 thoughts on “whew

  1. Have you ever tried shopping at Dee’s for yarn? They have a HUGE selection (seems to get bigger each time I go in there) at the location across the way from Mall St. Matthews. You should check it out! I’m not sure if they have Cotton Ease, but the last time I was in there they had quite a lot of Lion Brand.

  2. Michelle says:

    I love the Danica’s I’ve seen on Ravelery in SWS; the color changes of the yarn work perfectly for the pattern. I just bought three skeins of SWS ‘Natural Earth’ at my Michael’s on Sunday to do my own!

  3. Interweave has a free pattern for a short row (entrelac) hat, made with Patons SWS. It’s absolutely gorgous! I’ll get my hands on some SWS, some day…

  4. Natural Pink is such a sweet color. I really like knitting with this yarn because it feels so good flowing through my fingers and the colorways are pretty, but I couldn’t stand all its shedding. During the time I was knitting with SWS, I was constantly sweeping up the shedded fiber which after a while, got very annoying.

  5. Anges is going to be super cute!

    Our Michaels seems to be carrying less and less yarn too. I think they are trying to phase out alot of the novelty yarn. Though ours did just get in a bunch of SWS, they can’t seem to keep the cotton ease in stock!

  6. I love the green Cotton Glace you’re working with – someday I’ll get my hands on some of these Rowan yarns you keep showing us!
    You know, my Joann’s has nothing in the way of yarn – only Lionbrand Handspun (this stuff is hideous) and other cheesy acrylics – usually one or two balls of dishcloth cotton, too – but that’s it. So, you aren’t missing much there!
    That Patons SWS is *so* soft, though, isn’t it??

  7. I’m not sure SWS has green, but it also comes in lovely blues and purples… I think Danica will look absolutely amazing in this yarn. For me, it’s a tossup between SWS and Silk Garden for my first Entrelac project, which is already planned (but haven’t bought yarn for it yet).

  8. I’m with you on the poor selection at the craft stores. Michaels used to be my best bet but I was there this week and half the spaces were empty. I asked someone if they were rearranging or carrying less yarn, and they didn’t know. *sigh*

  9. I’m using SWS in geranium for a cardigan. I’m really impressed with it – I admit I don’t usually expect too much from cheaper yarns. It’s very soft and the colours are a bit shiny! (Pictures are on the blog)

  10. Carol says:

    I noticed Michael’s selection has gone way down as well. I second trying Dee’s. They seem to have a lot, alhtough I don’t know about cotton-Ease. I got some cotton ease at Tuesday Morning once but I think that was random and just because they were discontinuing the colors.

Leave a Reply

