The sweater that sickness built

5 May

“Nooo” says Sarah Jane, “You don’t need more photos of the knitting. Look at the cute instead!”

Yesterday I went to work, which in hindsight was possibly a mistake… I made it through my obligations, but then immediately felt 10 times sicker… so I stayed home from work today. I will have to make up the day later, of course, since I don’t actually get sick days from my teaching job (Oh how I long for sick days!) but at least I got to stay home and knit! My unexpected illness has resulted in the tuxedo top being very near completion, while I was expecting this top to take at least 2 weeks. I’ve finished the front and back, and knit the 2 lace straps. I’m waiting for the front to finish blocking so that I can knit the lace inset. I think I’ve decided to go with the reverse stockinette, but I’ll see when it dries. My tension on the front piece is much nicer, and I don’t care as much about the back.

I got my copy of Nectar in the mail today, along with the denim yarn to make Joy. My mailman said “Look, more yarn” when he handed me the package… I think he’s on to me.

It should be interesting – I’ve never knit with denim before! I was relieved to see that my stashed Rowan yarns will work nicely for Jasmine and Dawn. Everything looks nicer in person, and the book is really just lovely. I also was pleased to see that I can use the frogged All Seasons cotton from Manon to make this design, Honey.

I really like the way the cables are shaped at the bottom… it reminds me of the Nantucket Jacket, but hopefully this sweater will not give me linebacker shoulders (I’m a little bitter about that knit.)  I’m sure I won’t get to this before fall, but won’t it make a nice fall jacket?

Tonight while I’m waiting on the front of the Tuxedo top to dry I will do a little swatching for the designs from the new IK and Nectar that I’m interested in knitting.  I’ve already swatched the bamboo silk for Wallis and I love it, but I will post more about that tomorrow!

9 Responses to “The sweater that sickness built”

  1. marycatharine May 5, 2008 at 9:43 pm #

    I hope you feel better soon. That book looks fantastic but I think that your postman may be the best postman ever :)

  2. Nicole May 5, 2008 at 10:29 pm #

    I love the white sweater… it’s elegant and simple and classic…

  3. marri May 6, 2008 at 12:00 am #

    oh! oh! who designed that honey sweater and where is it published? so lovely!

    feel better soon!

  4. Lise May 6, 2008 at 2:54 am #

    Those Hargreaves designs are gorgeous. Looking forward to hear about your denim experiences. Thinking about starting a denim project from Nectar too.

  5. floderten May 6, 2008 at 2:58 am #

    Good heavens, woman. I can’t believe how much you knit. Or how much yarn you have. :P Haha!

    Loving how the tuxedo tank is coming out, that colour is gorgeous! I wrote off that pattern when I initially saw it, but seeing other versions on Ravelry, I’m re-thinking. It might be a really cute tank, actually!! Can’t wait to see the FO. ;)

    Don’t your hands hurt when you knit so much??

  6. Raina May 6, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    Sorry to hear you are sick…that sucks. I love that denim yarn and have been thinking about making the boyfriend a sweater out of it. Let me know how it knits up. The color is so great.

  7. yoel May 6, 2008 at 9:00 am #

    Those cables are awesome! So sorry you’re sick, and hope you feel better soon. There’s nothing like knitting to get you well!

  8. Shea May 6, 2008 at 6:09 pm #

    who designed the Honey sweater and where can I get the pattern. It’s gorgeous!

  9. Mackenzie May 6, 2008 at 7:32 pm #

    I hope you feel better! Denim sounds interesting and Honey looks delightful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

