FO: February Lady Sweater

7 Sep

Pattern: February Lady Sweater

Yarn: Dream in Color Classy in Happy Forest, 3 skeins

Needles: US 6

Notes: I knit this while I was waiting on my yarn for honey to arrive from England.  It was a very quick knit, though the garter yoke seemed eternal (especially since I started it three times!)  My gauge was 20 st/4 inches rather than the 18 called for in the pattern.  Assuming that this yarn, which is superwash, would stretch, I cast on for the smallest size.  I did 2 extra increases and knit about 6 garter ridges after the eyelet row, for a total raglan depth of 6″ preblocking, 7″ after blocking (measured along the diagonal line.)  I knit 22 repeats of the pattern on both the body and the sleeves.

My buttonholes are 2 inches apart rather than 2.5″.  Plus – pirate buttons!  (As an aside, has anyone ever read The_Pirates! in an Adventure with Scientists? I highly recommend it – very funny!)

The sweater was too small, especially in the armholes, when it was finished.  I was counting on blocking to fix that, and indeed it did – this sweater grew considerably.  It’s also much lighter and drapier now.  Total growth was 1.5″ in length and 2″ in the bust.

I love the color of this yarn, but I’m not sure I loved knitting with it.  Am I the only one who feels that superwash wools have a strange plasticky feel to them?  I do not usually enjoy knitting with them, though they are lovely and soft when washed.  This yarn, due to its springiness, seemed especially tight to me.  The colors, though, are gorgeous, and because of that I would use it again.  I can think of nothing that compares.  I didn’t even alternate skeins here, and you can’t tell a bit!

Now begins the difficult task of choosing my next knit.  I’ve spent tonight on ravelry, considering my queue and my yarn stash.  There are a million things I want to make for fall, including a bunch of Kim Hargreaves knits, the new Silken Scabbard pattern from Stitch Diva, the Lamour Slipover from the new Rowan mag, several knits from Custom Knits, the new book by Wendy Bernard, Petersburg from last winter’s Rowan… well, you get the idea.  I am very indecisive.  This week we are also removing the wallpaper in our bedroom (at last!  No more wallpaper!) so I’m probably going to be pretty busy with that, as well as a ton of work related activities this week (I have been on vacation the last few weeks, working on my house.)  We have a few falling leaves here already – it may be hot, but fall is on its way!

31 Responses to “FO: February Lady Sweater”

  1. susan September 7, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Hi there,
    De-lurking to say that I totally agree with you about superwash wools. I’ve actually recently decided not to use them at all anymore, even for my own children! I have a 9mo and a 2.5yo, and while they are as messy as any other kids, I figure I’m a knitter and I would rather handwash the sweaters I make for them than knit with superwash wool. The only exceptions are socks and a couple unfinished toddler-sized sweaters…come to think of it, the reason I haven’t finished them is probably because I don’t like how the yarn feels when I’m knitting them!

  2. Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) September 7, 2008 at 10:33 pm #

    It looks lovely!

    I agree about superwash wools. Most of them feel like acrylic to me. The notable exception is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted, which is soft and silky and practically indestructible, and if my children didn’t need college funds, I would probably knit with nothing else.

  3. sue September 8, 2008 at 2:04 am #

    Your FLS looks absolutely gorgeous and it suits your coloring so well too. Nice to know that the sweater grows a bit after blocking it too.

  4. SweetP September 8, 2008 at 2:25 am #

    Oh stunning!! I really love the colour and it looks so flattering on you.

    I have wool all sorted for a FLS, just got to finish a few things. Sigh

  5. Lise September 8, 2008 at 3:25 am #

    Beautiful sweater, really! I always try to avoid superwash wool because I feel that something essential has disappeared from the wool. Of course it’s great for socks and children’s clothes.

  6. Melanie September 8, 2008 at 7:02 am #

    Thanks for commenting back:). I have to say that I think this is one of the most adorable FOs of this sweater that I’ve seen and I LOVE the buttons (I have a serious affinity for the Jolly Roger^_-). Anyway…I gave the kitchener stitch another try yesterday on some practice swatches with MUCH greater success, so I’m not quite so discouraged. I went back to the basics, just making swatches of this stitch and that stitch, rather than trying to tackle a project right off the bat, and I think it’s helping. At any rate, I will continue to await your next WIP post:). Thanks again!

  7. mick September 8, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    That is so awesome. The color is perfect for you, the fit is awesome, and pirates are the coolest. I LOVE this sweater. *goes to check stash and find yarn that would work for it*

  8. yoel September 8, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    This sweater turned out absolutely perfect! I’ve used the exact same yarn before, down to the color, and loved knitting with it. It wasn’t as “plasticky” as some of the other superwash wools out there. Still, I know what you mean, and perhaps it is best to use superwash for socks only.

  9. jen jen September 8, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    oohh…that sweater is just gorgeous…love the color, the style, but most of all the pirate buttons!!

  10. Carishma September 8, 2008 at 8:56 am #

    Lovely sweater! You’ve inspired me to cast on for one. So many of them popping up on the internets!

  11. Julie September 8, 2008 at 9:03 am #

    So pretty! Those buttons are the best.

  12. orata September 8, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    Beautiful sweater! Wonderful buttons! I’ve had the same experience with superwash feeling plasticky when using KP Swish–it was incredibly soft, but also felt a lot like acrylic to me. Squeaky.

  13. frillbow September 8, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    I love that you chose skull buttons for such a girly-style knit! It looks fantastic photographed against the blue too.

  14. Alicia P September 8, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Yep, those buttons rock. The sweater looks awesome!

  15. robin September 8, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    Love the sweater and the way you styled it for the photos!! Nice work as always, and the green/blue variegation is great with your coloring.

  16. Kristen September 8, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    I’ve never noticed a plastic feel to my superwash wools, but I must admit I’ve not worked with many of them and the overall hand does change considerably when washed. I guess I just never considered the “pre-washed” feel particularly plasticy.

    I love the way the FLS turned out – especially the colorway. Green is my favorite color, so your FO’s are always very appealing to me.

    As to The Pirates! Since reading it, my new answer to any ridiculous question is “I like ham!”

  17. monica September 8, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    So so cute! I love the buttons!!

  18. brook September 8, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    beautiful sweater! i knit one without the lace pattern, but am seriously considering knitting another one with lace!!

  19. Sara September 8, 2008 at 12:24 pm #

    your sweater looks gorgeous in green. i think that semi-solid yarns look best with this pattern–i tried one in a solid red, but i didn’t really like it.

    great job!

  20. Amanda September 8, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    Beautiful! The buttons are fabulous. This has been in my queue for awhile — hopefully I’ll manage to get to it before next spring!

  21. Susan September 8, 2008 at 1:28 pm #

    Your February Lady sweater looks fabulous! Thanks for the tip about it growing – I have the same yarn and about to start my own, so that’s very helpful.
    Yay for fall’s arrival – sweater season is just about the corner!

  22. Christie September 8, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    Very cute! Oh boy…what next, what next!

  23. Sarah September 8, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    It looks great on you! I love the sassy buttons :)

  24. KERaven September 8, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    Looks lovely! Makes me think I need to add it to my queue.

  25. hareball9 September 8, 2008 at 10:39 pm #

    Totally cute!

  26. Sarah September 9, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Those are the best buttons.. ever!!! I really like them and they make the sweater pop! The sweater is awesome. I have the same yarn for the pattern…

  27. Jeanine September 11, 2008 at 1:47 pm #

    It’s gorgeous. Those buttons are so FUNKY. Great selection.

  28. Amber September 24, 2008 at 8:58 am #

    Inquiring minds must know, where did the fabubuttons come from? And I adore that color, wow!

  29. CP August 21, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Due to seeing this on your blog, I’m going to start knitting this sweater this weekend. It didn’t think it would suit me, but you’re about my size and it looks just adorable on you! So cute. So I’m making it in a deep teal/turquoise Cascade 220 and we’ll see how it goes! Thanks for all your lovely blog posts. Yours is my favorite knitting blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. rainberryblue :: miles to go :: March :: 2009 - March 18, 2009

    [...] Green Apples made a gorgeous green FLS [...]

  2. Got my butt kicked… « Knitting Knewbie’s Blog - April 29, 2009

    [...] re-knit (all parts done at least twice) and longest on the needles, is my February Lady Sweater. (This woman’s is beautiful. Almost inspiring. Almost.) This was an exercise in how NOT to knit a sweater. Started [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

