FO: Minimalist Cardigan

7 Oct

Pattern:Minimalist Cardigan, Interweave Knits Fall 07

Yarn: Valley Yarns Colrain in Chestnut

Needles: US 5

Notes: This sweater is really easy to knit (if you don’t mind moss stitch that is…)  I enjoyed working with Colrain again (one of my favorites!) and the result is an easy going sweater that isn’t quite like anything else in my closet.

Either the biasing didn’t quite block out or I knit one front longer than the other.  Either way, I think it works with the sweater and isn’t a problem.  I kind of like assymetry anyway.

It was a quick knit, and I would recommend the pattern – just be aware that it does bias, and block before seaming.  If you use colrain, please remember that it does stretch.  I knit a 30″ back to get 32″ after blocking.

Overall I am pleased (especially with the color!)

21 Responses to “FO: Minimalist Cardigan”

  1. melissa October 7, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    it’s totally gorgeous! i love it in brown.

  2. Christie October 7, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    The color is lovely indeed. Great sweater!

  3. erin October 7, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    its great.
    i was thinking about making just a simple cardigan with a nice stitch and a collar!

    awesome sweater!

  4. yoel October 7, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    Looks great, esp with your hair! You are a saint to do moss stitch on a whole sweater.

  5. Niki October 7, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    The color looks great with your hair. I like yours much more so than the one in the magazine. It looks very comfortable.

  6. Julia October 7, 2008 at 8:04 pm #

    Absolutely beautiful! You’ve revived my love for (and desire to knit) Minimalist! I love the outfits you choose for your knits…very flattering. :o)

  7. Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) October 7, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Very pretty! I love the color, and the beautiful drape. Very flattering on you, too!

  8. Renee October 7, 2008 at 8:30 pm #

    Lovely sweater, lovely person and so beautifully photographed!

  9. Jennifer October 7, 2008 at 9:34 pm #

    Beautiful! It inspires me to pull mine out of hibernation.

  10. Hissy Stitch October 7, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    Sweet! I could use me one of those. ::sigh:: As though there isn’t enough in my queue already…

  11. Trine October 8, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    Beautiful. It goes great with that blue top, too!

  12. Stitch Sista October 8, 2008 at 2:44 am #

    Gorgeous!

    Now come on fess up – you really want to be a knitwear model don’t you? I mean it’s totally you…you would be great as all your FO shots are great!

  13. Andrea October 8, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    Beautiful color on you! Looks great.

  14. barelyknittogether October 8, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    This is so lovely! More substantial than a shrug but so simple. By the way, you are not the *last* person to hop on the calorimetry bandwagon. :)

  15. merp October 8, 2008 at 9:53 am #

    Sweet! And you are so fast! I’m dying to get this on my needles, but I’m so slow! You picked a great color.

  16. Julie October 8, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    It’s so pretty, and I love the colour! I didn’t even notice that one side was slightly longer, and you’re right- it does seem like a nice assymetrical sort of detail. Great job!

  17. Greeley October 8, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    Love it! Again with the speedy knitting! I am determined to finish my black version before I head back to Rhinebeck–the yarn was a gift from when a friend went two years ago.

  18. robin October 8, 2008 at 4:19 pm #

    Great cardi! Thanks for the yarn/sizing tips, always good to know.

  19. Gia October 8, 2008 at 10:04 pm #

    fantastic………….

  20. Sarah October 9, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    That looks fabulous on you!

  21. kittyboo October 14, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    beautiful – the colour is amazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

