Gloomy day yarn

Since it’s a gloomy day here (we had snow and ice last night) and I have to go to work tonight (Advent reconciliation service) I thought I would cheer us all up with some random yarn prettiness.  These are the latest additions to my sock yarn stash.

Socks That Rock lightweight in Moonstone. I bought this during their 15% off sale last week.  I have another order coming with mediumweight in 24 karat and heavyweight in rosebud.  I’ve never used this yarn, but I’ve always been curious about the frenzy.  They have some more solid colors now, so pooling is less of an issue.  I’m thinking of Chalet Socks or some sort of lacy pattern.

Fleece Artist Somoko in Beet. So pretty.  This yarn contains mohair, so I expect it will fuzz up a bit, but the color is gorgeous.

Fleece Artist Sea Wool in Silver. Absolutely looks like silver.  Love the crunchy, springy feel.  I can’t wait to knit with this, I hope I can find a deserving pattern!  I love fleece artist and handmaiden yarns in general, so I’m pleased that these yarns are so nice.  I also want to try Casbah, Handmaiden’s sock yarn with cashmere in it.

I finished my first Cozy Cable sock.

It’s pretty and fits well (those cables really pull in!)  I am not so enamored of the yarn, but more on that later.

Right now I am eating Qdoba for a quick dinner, and I’ve just finished knitting the back of the climbing vine pullover on the machine.  I decided to go ahead and machine knit the stockinette, because I have so many sweaters still to get to this winter, and as much as I love the yarn I love my tendonitis less (I always knit too fast on stockinette and wind up having to take knitting breaks!)  Right now my tendonitis isn’t bad, but with Christmas and Christmas jobs coming up, who knows how I will fare.

4 thoughts on “Gloomy day yarn

  1. I love sock yarn and I enjoy seeing other people’s yarn too.
    Hope your tendonitis settles down and doesn’t bother you too much. I hate taking knitting breaks, but have to too.

  2. I love your yarns, thanks for sharing! I am a sock yarn addict.

    I would love to hear what you thought about the DIC Starry. I almost bought it when it first came out, but then I remembered I don’t really need any more sock yarn right now. I’d still like to try it eventually, though.

Leave a Reply

