Up next and a yarn review

19 Mar

Last night I swatched for the Soap bubble wrap.  I’m really looking forward to this one – I don’t have any sweaters of this style!  The yarn I’m using is Lion Brand studio Cotton Bamboo.  I was a bit leery after my last bamboo experience, but this yarn feels very different to me.  The cotton gives it a pretty dry hand, but it isn’t stiff.  It is a bit splitty, but nothing like some bamboo blends (RYC Bamboo soft, I’m looking at you!)  I would compare the feel of knitting with it to Brown Sheep Cotton fleece, just a bit less dense.  Same amount of splittiness, and the feel is similar.  This color is a really pretty tea rose, tending on the salmon side just a little, but not really orangey.  You will have to excuse my obsession with pink for a bit – I have missed the color so much with the red hair that I keep getting pink things!  The gauge is between 5 and 5.5 st/in.  I’m using the 5 st/in one (on US 6 needles) because I don’t have enough yarn to go up more than 1 size.  I think it will drape nicely at that gauge, and it doesn’t at all look too stretched out.

I’ll update my review after I knit for awhile though, but so far this looks like a good economical yarn choice!
I used Aveda’s Black Malva conditioner on my hair, and I think it helped a little with the brassiness.  My hairdresser offered to redo, but I think I will wait until it has to be recolored and keep using the conditioner every few washes.  I suspect this color will require more frequent touch-ups, since it is darker than my old color and much darker than my natural dark blond (I used to have super dark hair, and nothing looks stranger to me than light roots.)

Finally, I’m selling some yarn on my Ravelry Stash page – check it out if you are interested!

5 Responses to “Up next and a yarn review”

  1. Trina March 19, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

    What a pretty colour, I can’t wait to see how it knits up! (as one who never swatches…)

  2. Renee March 19, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    I love pink, I’m looking forward to seeing more of this.
    Off to check out your destash!

  3. connie March 19, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Cool! I’ll be watching your progress. Love your Millefori Cardigan. You did a beautiful job.

  4. Suzanne (Yarnhog) March 19, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    That’s a lovely pink. As a lifelong redhead, I’ve never worn pink. I can see where you would crave it after a while.

  5. SoKnitpicky March 20, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    That’s a lovely shade. Lion Brand is really steppin’ up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

