FO: Blithe

14 May

Pattern: Blithe by Kim Hargreaves, from Breeze

Yarn: Rowan 4-ply cotton in Aubergine,, a little over 4 balls

Needles: US 0

Notes: I wanted to make Blithe from the first moment I saw the pattern appear as a kit.  Alas, the lousy exchange rate and shipping tempered my enthusiasm.  So I when I saw it was being released in Breeze, there was no question what I was going to make first.

I think I knit with few alterations to the pattern.  I didn’t change needle sizes for the hemline or sleeves, and I’m glad I didn’t (since I was knitting on size 0s anyway, I figured it would make little difference.)  I knit the body to 15″, and I think that is the length called for in pattern, or close to it.  It could be longer, but it’s fine as is.  I did add one extra set of waist shaping pairs.

I found a few things confusing about the pattern.  First of all, I somehow knit too many buttonholes, and ended up only using every other one and calling it a design element.  And then one of the fronts has less stitches than the other, and yet just said “reverse shaping other side.”  I winged it, but I wasn’t happy about the way it was worded.   I knit the sleeves as written and they fit me fine, but they are small… be aware and knit more if needed.

But anyway… I love this sweater!  I think it’s so flattering and I love the pretty color!  My tension was pretty awful on the back, but oh well – I can’t see it when I’m wearing it!  I am so happy that I finally got to make my Blithe!

34 Responses to “FO: Blithe”

  1. Maryse May 14, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    It is indeed very flattering and the color is perfect. Very nice pattern and your interpretation is just awesome! Congratulations!

  2. susan May 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    It’s really gorgeous!

  3. Claudia May 14, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    It is so beautiful! Good job! and v. flattering–I totally want one now!

  4. Lisette May 14, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    Very pretty, it is on my list for spring/summer knitting.

  5. Melanie May 14, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

    This is very pretty! I’ve been admiring Blithe for a while now, too. Your Blithe looks fabulous.

  6. Lindsay Sauls May 14, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    That’s beautiful, and it looks great on you!

  7. Amanda May 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Oh, this is just the inspiration I need to finish mine (just have the sleeves left)! Beautiful!

  8. Angie May 15, 2009 at 12:51 am #

    Very nice, very good color on you. You are amazingly fast:) I’m still studying, only knitting vicariously for the most part, though I did start another pair of socks–Anna Bell’s Elfine. Thank you for sharing, I love Blithe.

  9. mooncalf May 15, 2009 at 4:12 am #

    It looks great. I love Kim Hargreaves’ designs but the way she writes her patterns makes my head spin. I just can’t bear the line-by-line approach!

  10. Misty May 15, 2009 at 6:23 am #

    The sweater looks gorgeous on you! Congrats on your finish!

  11. Rebecca May 15, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    It’s gorgeous, I love the colour you used.

  12. Debby May 15, 2009 at 7:48 am #

    What a flattering sweater and color! Can’t wait to see what you choose to knit next.

  13. Connie May 15, 2009 at 8:12 am #

    Very pretty. And the color is great on you. I love Kim Hargreaves’ designs too.

  14. Jacey May 15, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    I love it! This has been high up in the queue, and I just bought Breeze as well. You did a wonderful job, and the purple color is so flattering on you.

  15. Andrea May 15, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    That looks great on you. I’m very tempted to make Blithe down the road. But I hate unclear knitting instructions. Why are they so lazy? I had the same problem with a pattern in Erika Knight’s Classic Knits. Maybe it’s because they’re English patterns? Oh well…

  16. Julie May 15, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    It’s gorgeous, what a great colour! I;’m sure the extra button holes look good, even if unintended.

  17. monica May 15, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    Great job! It’s perfect on you.

  18. Emily May 15, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    That is gorgeous! Aubergine is one of my favorite colors.

  19. Julia May 15, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Thisw sweater looks great! I love the colour.

  20. dskinla May 15, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    Lovely! In order to avoid the mismatched fronts/sleeves dilemma, I’ve taken to knitting both at the same time on the same long circular needle (with two balls of yarn). That way I don’t have to write things down or remember what I did. Then, of course, there’s always creative blocking.

  21. Allison May 15, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    Beautiful! As everything you seem to knit is. Wish I had that super power. :-)

  22. Lis Crafts May 15, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    Did you cast on another 7 stitches when starting on the right front? That will make it the same number of stitches as the left front. Your Blithe is lovely.

  23. maxine May 15, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Absolutely beautiful!! I love the color and the style is sweet and perfect. I’m looking forward to starting a new project. As long as I’m wearing my magnifying glasses I’m sure I will be able to follow along. Thanks. I’ll let you know how I make out.

  24. lisa May 15, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    So very pretty and the color looks beautiful on you!

  25. Mr Puffy May 15, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    That is super cute on you! Wonderful knitting and lovely photos. I haven’t taken the plunge on Breeze yet…. but may have to rethink that :)

  26. Christina May 15, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    It came out beautiful and that color is gorgeous! That is definitely your color, it suits you so well. Definitely one of my favorite FOs that you’ve produced – well done!

  27. Maureen May 15, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    Blithe looks beautiful! I like the photo of you at the piano (on Flickr). :)

  28. Leonie May 15, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    I am always so impressed by your finished object posts, they generally look so beautiful. The Blithe does suit you so well. Great job!

  29. yoel May 15, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Beautiful! Off to queue for self….

  30. Trine May 17, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    Gorgeous! That colour suits you really well. :)

    And congrats on quitting your job and going for something that makes you happy. I hope you are very successful and happy with it. :)

  31. mick May 17, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    I love the pattern, and it looks gorgeous on you. Lovely!

  32. Chandi May 18, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    Wow, I cannot believe how fast you made this! It is really gorgeous! And on size 0 needles? Sheesh! You are awesome! You totally inspire me!

  33. robin May 18, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

    Beautiful!! Wow, size zero needles – you go!

  34. Trikada May 23, 2009 at 5:47 am #

    Tre bela!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

