FO: Kürbis baby hat

5 Oct

Pattern: Kürbis baby hat

Yarn: Vanna’s choice in Tangerine and Kelly Green

Needles: US 5 and 6

Notes: I’m not much of one for knitting baby items, but I do have a baby niece – and what kind of a knitter aunt would I be if I didn’t make her something?  Besides, this hat is adorable!  The pattern was easy to follow.  I only made one alteration – knitting the stem on 3 stitches rather than 4, because my yarn was slightly thinner than called for in the pattern.  I knitted it tightly, and the size seems ok.  It only took a few hours.  The yarn was alright for an acrylic – not as scratchy as red heart, but less floppy than simply soft.  I like that it comes in some nice muted colors.  I’d use it again for something like this, though not for anything larger I don’t think.

Halloween is almost here – ah, my favorite holiday!

11 Responses to “FO: Kürbis baby hat”

  1. Angie October 5, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    My favorite holiday, too! Cute pumpkin hat.

  2. Renee October 5, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

    Adorable! Great colour. :)

  3. Carolyn October 5, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Your hat is adorable. The Vanna yarns are soooo vibrant and pretty.

  4. Julie October 5, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    too cute!!

  5. Maryse October 5, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    It’s really really cute! Happy Halloween!

  6. Julie October 5, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    I made my girl the pumpkin hat last year and everywhere we went people loved it! Great choice!

  7. Brandy October 5, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    I am just about to need to knit a baby pumpkin hat for my friend..awesome to not have to figure out what yarn and what pattern. This is very cute.

  8. meshaliu October 6, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    Ha! My 3 yo nephew is getting the same hat!

  9. ali October 7, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    I always love seeing those adorable little pumpking hats! Funny thing is, none of my own children have ever worn or owned one, LOL!!
    Great FO though!
    Happy knitting-
    ali

  10. Anonymous October 21, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    Where did you find the pattern?

  11. Pam October 21, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    Where did you find the pattern?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

