FO:Tsunami socks

28 Oct

Pattern: Tsunami socks, from Knitted Socks East and West

Yarn: Socks that rock lightweight in moonstone, nearly all of 1 skein

Needles: US sz 0 Knitpicks metal DPNs

Notes: This was a really enjoyable knit.  The pattern was completely clear, and this pattern was easily memorized.  I made a few alterations – after the leg section I decreased down to 61 stitches for the foot, because it would have been too big with the larger number.  I also decreased more quickly than called for on the toe.  I don’t know why, but I always have to do this – I think maybe my toes aren’t very pointy.

I enjoyed the yarn, which was very firm.  I don’t think it’s very lightweight at all, and these socks probably would knit up smaller in the called for yarn (Regia silk I think.)   It’s also not quite as even looking as some sock yarns.  I can’t say it’s my favorite sock yarn ever (I prefer softer yarns) but it is nice.  To my mind it’s similar to Colinette Jitterbug, which has a similar hard twist.  My row gauge was big, and I should have made the heel flap much shorter – it’s way too long on me.  But that’s ok, I love the pretty wintery colors, and I can’t wait to knit more socks from this book!

 

13 Responses to “FO:Tsunami socks”

  1. Rebecca October 28, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    Those are beautiful!

  2. Sophy October 28, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    they look awesome and what a great color for them too. i bought the book impulsively for the cover project — but i also like the hanami lace socks ;D

  3. Renee October 28, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    Great socks!!
    I have got to seriously get this sock book…

  4. Julie October 28, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    those are such great socks!!

  5. Emilee October 28, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    Cute socks!

  6. Tatiana October 29, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    Very nice socks! Great work!

  7. Petit Filoux October 29, 2009 at 4:38 am #

    Whao, that’s really impressive!!! I’m a long way away from knitting socks that’s for sure!!!

  8. Roobeedoo October 29, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    Lovely! I am knitting Biwa at the moment and you would like the heel flap – much shorter than normal. It’s such a great book!

  9. molly October 29, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    I love these, but I cant tell if they’re knee-highs? I saw this book in a store not long ago, and while I liked the patterns, for some of them I couldn’t tell whether they were children’s or adult’s sizes?

  10. Monet October 29, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    I think they came out great…and thanks for turning me on to the book. I buy books rarely (only the goodies–Nancy B, EZ, etc), but I loved all of the patterns in this one!

  11. Knittripps October 29, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Lovely new socks! I love wearing new socks for the first time.

  12. Rachel November 2, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Those look so comfortable! Great job

  13. mrs. ott December 17, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    hi. i’m a new knitter and i am overwhelmed with all the excitement and want to knit everything in sight. do you ever have several projects going at once or do you only do one knitting project at a time?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

