FO: Tulip skirt

Pattern: Simplicity 2413, View A

Fabric: Stretch cotton sateen from Joanns (the Riviera collection,) about 2.5 yards

Notes: Obviously I made a fabric change.  Spring weather has arrived here, and I was anxious to make a spring skirt!  I didn’t have anything suitable, so I bought this stretch sateen at Joanns for 40% off.  It was really nice to work with, except for being slightly difficult to cut.  I used my walking foot and a stretch needle to get the most even results on the stretchy fabric.

I was really curious to make a tulip skirt – I like the slightly retro shape, and it’s easier to wear that its cousin the bubble skirt.  This version has what’s called a “paper bag waist” – thanks to Amanda for reminding me what that was called, and reminding me that I loved this style when I saw it on Project Runway.  It’s easy to wear because it softens the waistline – it is somewhat high waisted, but you are belting a bit lower.

I thought the skirt was well drafted, and I had no issues with it other than the usual sizing down from the crazy ease in Simplicity patterns.  My measurements make me a size 12 from the waist down, but I made an 8.  I could have gotten away with a 6 I think, because of the stretch fabric.  So my advice is to pin the pleats on the tissue and measure before deciding on a size (the pattern does not include any useful finished measurements, such as the waist.)  I have a pet peeve about this – I understand that different people want differing amounts of ease, but it does stand to reason that they bought the pattern because of the envelope photo, and want a size that will give them that effect.  So why list a size that will give you a huge skirt?  Won’t that just make people say “Simplicity patterns don’t fit me?”

The instructions were ok I guess, but I did follow a different order.  The pattern called for installing the zipper first, and doing the pleats nearly last.  I reversed that, and was able to construct 90% of the skirt, including the bottom band, flat.  I think it was easier that way.  I also did my pockets differently, and in the end only installed the one on the side without the zipper.   It looks fine that way.

I did make the bottom band, which is optional.  Without the band, the skirt is quite a bit shorter, as it tends to poof out more without the weight.  It was too short for my taste, and I want to be able to wear this to work.  Overall I am very pleased with the skirt – it was dead simple to make, and surprisingly grown-up, even in the crazy print.  I think it could look quite dressy in a more sedate fabric.  It’s trendy, but not too much for me (and you know I am not about trends, so that’s good!)

30 thoughts on “FO: Tulip skirt

  1. So cute! I wish I was a person who wore skirts – this one would be a definite! But, alas, I usually wear dresses. Skirts just are not comfortable for me. But this one is really cute!!

  2. Great skirt! I’m glad to know the extra weight of the bottom band pulls it down some. I was just going to make mine longer without the band but now will follow the pattern design. BTW, stretch sateen is one of my favorite fabrics to sew with as it has such a nice weight and irons beautifully, not to mention the comfort of an extra bit of stretch.

    • Yes, the band really pulls it down – I didn’t mention that it’s doubled fabric as well, which helps with pulling it down. The skirt had a significant pouf without it! This was my first time with stretch sateen, and it was lovely!

  3. looks great. I’m not a fan of bubble skirts and they certainly wouldn’t look good on my body, but I certainly like this and think I could even wear it. Everything you make is beautiful!

  4. I love this! It is so stinking cute! I wonder if a tulip shape would be flattering on me? I’ve shied away from high-waisted stuff because I’m very short-waisted, but also rather curvy. Maybe I’ll have to give it a try.

  5. I think it looks dressy in that fabric – you could wear it to a summer wedding! It would have been very short without the band – and it looks much more interesting with this detail. Another great job!

  6. redknitter says:

    Another great piece! I was thinking that I wanted to make a tulip skirt, and this might be just the pattern for me.

  7. Melissa says:

    So cute! I have to say I’m quite jealous … besides being a talented knitter and crocheter, you’re an amazing sewist! Great job (and I’m going to keep drooling over all the lovely additions to your wardrobe).

  8. The skirt looks lovely. The fabric is great too! Isn’t it great when you can just say “I have nothing to wear, I need a new skirt.” And you just grab some fabric, sew for a couple hours, and there you are, you have a new skirt!

  9. Thanks for the comment on my blog! The skirt is uber-cute. I’m in love with the pattern! It’s so vibrant and retro! Someone told me that some of the project runway patterns could be a bit tricky in fitting so I was a little hesitant (I bought them anyway during the $1 pattern sale at Joanns) and maybe will think twice about sewing them, I never follow the instructions anyway, lol!

  10. Sarah says:

    I was actually just about to buy this pattern, so I’m glad to get to see it on a real person first. It looks great! Thanks for the sizing tip too!

  11. Hi!

    I have just found your blog – and I LOVE it!!!

    Initially I was drawn in by the gorgeous skirt in this post – its so lovely, well done. And I automatically assumed that you are a seasoned pro at dressmaking….until I read through your older posts and see you have only really started making clothes since like Oct last year!!! Thats insane!!!

    You are totally inspirational and I am feeling very ashamed of my lack of finished pieces (I got my first sewing machine in October too!)!!! This is definately a big KICK UP THE BUM for me!

    Looking forward to seeing what else you make

    Suzie :)

  12. Diane says:

    Your skirt is darling!! My 20 year old daughter choose this pattern using big Amy Butler print. SHe dosn’t really like “Momma sewn” clothes too much anymore – but loved this skirt.
    As for the sizing – she is a RTW size 4 so I am thinking I will need to cut down the pattern size 4??

Leave a Reply

