Not the best of weeks

I have had a bad week.  People have been upset with me, I’ve been cried on, and in one memorable conversation, someone tried to convince me that I was morally a bad person (which is so completely the wrong thing to say to me if you don’t want a fight.)  I avoid confrontation at almost any cost, and I’ve had a lot of it.  For years I would find myself crying angry tears any time I was mad, but now at least I can hold them until after the argument… but still, it makes me upset for days.

Last night I couldn’t even sew, because I got so upset when I didn’t understand a piece of the directions that I cried. Seriously, big tears.  Marc cheered me up a bit with a vodka gimlet and the Mad Men premiere, but it was still a bad week.

Ok, enough self-pity – I’m sure things will look up soon!

I am working on the Tracy Reese dress muslin, but the neck facing directions are confusing me.  I hope to figure them out today (thank goodness it’s a light work day!)

I also bought 2 new vintage patterns.

I saw Mccall 6849 come up once before and I missed out on it, so when this turned up on Etsy I bought it right away.  I love this dress, and I hope I can make it work!  The lines are simple, and I can wear junior sizes.

Simplicity 5789 was one I had been searching for in my size (this isn’t the one I bought… I have a 32.)  I like the shaped midriff piece, and I’m pretty sure I want to make it out of a tweedy wool with the long sleeves.  It is perhaps a bit like a Star Trek uniform, but for me, let’s face it, that’s sort of a plus.

Oh yes, she would approve.

(and yes, I am a Trekkie, conventions and all.)


22 thoughts on “Not the best of weeks

  1. Oh dear, I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a bad week. If you can, take comfort from the fact that you are a) an inspiration, b) so encouraging to other Sewists and c) clearly full of creativity. Morality is a personal judgement call, not a ruler by which to measure others. And anyway – you clearly are a person to admire in many ways.

    PS The patterns look fantastic, particularly the first one!

  2. Jessica M says:

    I understand…I get so upset when someone is upset with me, even when they misunderstood. But I just rediscovered your blog over the weekend, and I have enjoyed reading about your sewing. Your work is lovely, thanks for the inspiration.

  3. I feel you on the bad week. I have been crying non stop the past several days. I only got out of bed today (took days off to move into my new condo) to let the plumber in…yup I need a new water heater to boot, and the inspector didn’t mention this when her inspected.

    Hang in there and keep your head up!

  4. Darci says:

    Some weeks are like that. (sigh) I find that when folks get mad at me, I struggle because I take it so personally. Most times, it’s not about you, but it’s THEIR stuff coming up an they want you to carry it. You really don’t have to.

    This book is really, really helpful when crappy stuff happens. You just have to change perspective and choose to look at it differently. I know it’s really helped me in MANY circumstances.:

    Chin up, girlie. It’ll all be okay.

  5. Katinka says:

    I know just how you feel. I hate hate HATE confrontation, and it leaves me sick in the pit of my stomach for days (ISFJ here). I hope things look up soon!

  6. * hand up *

    I am SpookyGirl and I am an angry crier too.

    For confrontation moments, I follow the bumper sticker:

    “I respect your opinion. I just don’t want to hear it.”

    The top pattern is very sweet, I like it with the gloves on the cover pic.

    Boldly go! ;)

  7. People are, as a rule, overrated. ;) Hope you’re week is already improving!

    I’ve been stalking that first dress too, but alas, I canNOT wear junior sizing. Ha. On the other hand…I missed the Mad Men premiere??? What the heck is up with me? I’ve been waiting for MONTHS! Ugh.

  8. Darci is right; we INFJs take other people’s issues on our own backs to carry. We have to hand it back to them so they deal with it (and then we can reach for the tissue box). Kitties and husbands are very good listeners, as are blog friends.

    I absolutely love the first vintage dress pattern, and I hope you make it soon. Will you make it with lace? It looks perfect for the cocktail parties you want to have.

  9. I can’t imagine anyone who sews for a hobby being a morally bad person…somehow the qualities required for sewing don’t seem to be compatible with morally bad people…not that I know you personally :)

    If it’s any consolation, I’ve had confrontations this week also that have left me too upset to sew, but I am pleased that for the first time in a long time I kept all my tears in myself. And I turned to all the sewing blogs…reading them and writing my own calmed me down enough that I could continue getting through the things I have to get through.

  10. I don’t get the people who don’t cry. Seriously, how authentic can you be if your body refuses to cry?

    I cry all the time. And the last time I was accused of being an immoral person (actually accused of working with Satan to tempt someone into evil… to a group of youth group kids) I wept for days. It still bothers me, and it’s been years. :)

  11. Someone dared to call you what?? -Morally- wrong? That’s just so laughable. I just want to say, to Hook and Needle too: the ONLY person a stupid statement like that reflects on is the silly twit who made it. Stuff like that doesn’t say anything about you, it just shows up the person who thinks it’s okay to say spout utter rubbish like that.
    Don’t give someone like that the satisfaction of being bothered by what they said. Tell yourself (if true or not, it doesn’t really matter) that you can shrug it off with a hearty: Bah Humbug!
    There!

  12. Joanna says:

    Long time reader of your blog here, delurking to send you some positive vibes! Also, I LOVE the clean lines and vintage-yet-classic shape of that Simplicity pattern. I don’t sew much (unless it’s a loose button or gaping hem) but a pattern like that is very inspiring! Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  13. I’m sorry you had such a bad week! I don’t know if you have a routine that helps when you get mad. I know for me that going to the dojo helps blow off steam and I’m much better afterwards… maybe finding a personal non-destructive outlet for your anger will help? Sometimes artistic things help too.

    Your first pattern is awesome! Let us know how it goes.

  14. Clarissa says:

    Good luck with the muslin and the bad week. It’s good to have a stiff drink and some nice TV to check out with though. I also love Star Trek. I enjoy the original series the best, but Jean Luke Picard(spelling?) is very easy on the eyes.

  15. I also have had a bad week so far (and truth be told, a not so great couple of weeks preceding that from a “people” standpoint.) Hang in there, just hibernate in your sewing room for awhile and make your new vintage patterns. That’s what I’m trying to do (the sewing part, not the vintage part – my sewing “comfort food” is wrap dresses so I’m knocking them out.)

  16. Ann S says:

    Ugh. I am having the big ugly crying thing today and it is not fun. I have decided that the only thing to do will be ti sit in the middle of my bed and watch Doris Day movies. Drastic times call for drastic measures.

    Hope you are feeling beter -

Leave a Reply

