Tied with a bow: Vogue 1176

19 Oct

Pattern: Vogue 1176, a Michael Kors Design

Fabric: 2 yds polka dot suiting (Rebecca Taylor, from Mood,) 2 yards red china silk lining

Shoes: Alfani

Notes: I’ve had this dress in my queue since it came out, but I kept waiting for someone to review it!  I’ve finally seen one review, and they didn’t indicate that there was anything crazy, so late at night last week I got started.  I was drawn to this design because of the pleated bodice and bow – pretty and striking, but not over the top with girliness.

I made a muslin and ended up taking in the bodice by 1″ and letting out the skirt by 1″ (I had originally cut an 8 bodice and waist and a 10 skirt.)  In my opinion this ratio seemed a little off.  I also shortened the skirt by 2″, giving me a hemline right at the top of my knees.  I recommend this pattern highly – the pleated bodice went together really easily, and all the pieces were well drafted.  It’s really not hard at all, just follow the directions (and make a muslin… there are no finished bust measurements provided on the tissue.)

I had a few issues.  The skirt is eased onto the bodice, giving a bit of a puffy effect.  I had a little trouble easing the back, but I managed.  It seems that it was designed for someone with a less flat behind than I have, because as you can see the back is a little loose.  The darts were identical for all sizes, which may be the problem… shouldn’t they be different?  I would reduce them if I made the dress again.  The other issue was not the pattern – it was my fabric!  This fabric has a stitched stripe, and it was really easy to accidentally snag.  You can see a row on the back that has a little pulling.  I don’t know if I can recommend the fabric for that reason – I had to make the straps twice because I somehow lost a row of stitching!


I like this dress in a suiting, because it’s appropriate for day (with a sweater or jacket) or evening.  I can’t believe it hasn’t been more popular – it’s fabulous, and seemingly not nearly as hard as some of the other Kors designs (like the Starlet dress… someday!) Now I’m going to take a few nights off from sewing – I had a sinus infection this weekend, so I stayed in and literally only sewed this dress!

24 Responses to “Tied with a bow: Vogue 1176”

  1. rachel October 19, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    You look fantastic, and I really love the red lining. The bodice looks perfect – well done!

    Hope you feel better soon – you’ve been slammed with flus etc of late.

  2. A Sewn Wardrobe October 19, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    This dress is *fabulous*, despite the minor fitting woes. You look awesome in it.

    I think it’d look great in a linen, or a lightweight color, for spring/summer.

  3. CGCouture October 19, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Ugh! That sinus crap is definitely going around, my family is working on getting over it too. :-(

    Love the dress! It looks great on you, and while the fabric may not have been the best choice for ease of sewing, I think the end result was worth it! I wish I had a reason to make dresses like this….I can’t hardly justify sewing up anything that isn’t a t-shirt to wear with jeans, LOL.

    Any tips on sewing up fabric with stitches on it like that? I’ve got some shirting with a similar “stripe” effect that I was planning to make up for my hubby.

  4. Sarah October 19, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    The dress looks fantastic, I may have to check out some Kors patterns.

  5. Belinda Kwan October 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I remember you talking about this fabric when you bought it and that you thought the stripe was on the face. At the time (although I didn’t say anything) I didn’t think the stripe would be on the face due the the fact that it would snag easily. Of course I didn’t consider that it might snag during sewing too…..

  6. Sue October 19, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    It’s a gorgeous dress, looks wonderful on you. I love the draping and bow at the front.

  7. Susan - Knitters-Delight October 19, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Sorry to read about the snag. Still – you did a fabulous job. It looks great on you!

  8. Irene October 19, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    Looks fabulous! You did an amazing job. Love the red lining.

  9. Katherine October 19, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    tres chic!

  10. Lisa October 20, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    A really gorgeous dress , I love the red lining it really makes it special.

  11. didyoumakethat October 20, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    That looks as though it could make quite a nice dress for the party season in some suitably festive fabric! Hmmmm.

  12. G October 20, 2010 at 5:09 am #

    To die for, this dress! Hope you feel better soon!

  13. charlotteauzou October 20, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    It is very elegant. Good job on this dress !

  14. Catherine October 20, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    It’s beautiful! And despite the snag I love the choice of a suiting fabric.

  15. Sara October 20, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    it’s so cute and it looks really great on you. i love the red lining too.

  16. Mrs. Lyons October 20, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Your dress turned out so cute, and I’m glad to hear it wasn’t super hard to sew! It’s been in my sewing queue too, but that draping bit intimidated me a bit… I was waiting for others to sew it also, to see how it went for them!

  17. Shara October 20, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Wow! Gorgeous! Love the red shoes!

  18. P October 20, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    I have this pattern but haven’t made the dress yet. Thanks for the inspiration, it looks great on you!

  19. Phyllis October 20, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    I love this dress and love how it looks on you. Fab-u-lous.

  20. Denise October 21, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    That is a beautiful dress and I when I learn more about sewing, I’d like to make one too.

    I would also like to say that I’ve been following your blog for a couple years now. First, because I am a knitter and now I am a sewer too. I’ve always appreciated all the information you post about your projects. Thanks!

  21. Funnygrrl October 21, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    This is gorgeous! It is so versatile, like you said, for day or evening. Great job again.

  22. Rebecca October 23, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    The dress looks fantastic! I love the fabric you chose. With a little red jacket I think it would look very vintage.

  23. Amber October 23, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Love this dress! I also love your choice of shoes – so fun.

  24. Tasia October 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Cute! How annoying about the snag, but it’s such a fun dress anyways!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

