Working on…

a skirt inspired by Mondo on Project Runway.  I saw this doubleknit at Joann’s and had to pick it up, the large houndstooth reminded me of his designs!  I’m using the Burdastyle Jenny pattern to make a skirt.  I’ve used it before, and hopefully it will be ok in a doubleknit.  I hope to finish it by Thursday so I can wear it to watch the finale (if Mondo doesn’t win I’m calling shenanigans, seriously!)

I also have a whole basket of skirts to refashion, so I hope to get to one or two of those this week.  Other than that it’s been busy – I had a concert last night, and my mid-week schedule is busy as always!

10 thoughts on “Working on…

  1. I love that knit – what I love about double knits is they act like a woven, but you get the comfort, the ease of a knit with stability. I have substituted it before for a woven with no problems.

  2. I am SO team Mondo! The long dress in his mini collection – the black with white polka dots – that fabric (or something exactly the same) is at my Joanns right now and I’ve been eying up for a sweater, then saw the dress (and the cuffs on the shirt! oooo!)

    I LOVE that houndstooth! And a Jenny! it will be adorable! Are you going to find some sort of funky coordinating print??

  3. Woah, as soon as I saw that photo I was like, “It’s Mondo-tastic!” And then I scrolled down and he’s the inspiration. I think it would be way cool if he won – wouldn’t mind Andy winning either, but so far this season, Mondo’s clearly been the one to watch. Can’t wait to see your finished skirt!

  4. I bought the same fabric! I was thinking of making a simple turtleneck tunic with mine but since you likened it to Mondo maybe I should do something worthy of him. Like with some pattern mixing or some such. Hmmm….. Your skirt sounds really fun, especially to watch the finale in!

  5. As soon as I saw the photo, even before I read your post, my immediate thought was, “That reminds me of Mondo!” :) I’m a huge fan of his as well. He has inspired me to try some pattern mixing. Go, Mondo!!!

  6. Darci says:

    Love, love, love that fabric! I’m sure Mondo would be pleased to know he inspired you. Can’t wait to see you rock that skirt!

Leave a Reply

