Jenny + Mondo

28 Oct

Pattern: Jenny from Burdastyle

Fabric: Hot pink houndstooth doubleknit, 1.5 yards

Tights: H&M

Sweater: 525 America (from TJ Maax

Shoes: Gianni Binni last season

Notes: I have completed my Mondo-esque skirt, just in time to watch the finale tonight!   I’d made the Jenny skirt before, so this project went very smoothly – I just cut a size smaller than usual, to account for the stretch.  I cut the waistband pieces on the crossgrain so that I wouldn’t have to match all that houndstooth (though I did match the back seam.)

The skirt was shortened by about 2 inches and hemmed with a catchstitch by hand.  No lining – I am wearing a half-slip instead.  I was going to line with tricot, but I felt like the tricot wasn’t as stretch as my fabric, and I didn’t want to have to account for that.  No back slit, because the skirt is so stretchy.  I also omitted the zipper because I was in a hurry.  I can get it on, though I confess that I wouldn’t really recommend leaving out a zipper on this style.  I completely recommend making the Jenny skirt in doubleknit.  I know Burdastyle has a knit skirt (Melissa?) that is similar, but in my opinion this is better, because it has darts.  These sorts of interlock or doubleknit skirts are everywhere this season – I’ve seen them from Ann Taylor to Forever 21.  I like them, it’s dressy but you get the ease of a knit skirt.  They do remind me of the early 90s, but oh well – I can rock them again!  I think it’s important not to make a knit skirt too tight, to avoid looking like a vintage video vixen… but maybe that’s just me, and some bad memories of Whitesnake videos.

I won’t get to watch the finale on time – I have a rehearsal that runs until 9:00, and then I have to get dinner, but after that my husband and I are going to watch it!  There will be great disappointment in this household if Mondo doesn’t win, but either way I think he has a bright future.  It’s been a long time since I was so excited by a Project Runway contestant.  Admittedly, his favorite things are also mine – mixed geometric prints, high waists, and color! I mean, I really liked Seth Aaron who won last season, but the last designer I recall really loving was Chris March (who is getting his own reality show on Bravo – I can’t wait!)

21 Responses to “Jenny + Mondo”

  1. Tasia October 28, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Super fun skirt! I love the bold hot pink. I’ve thought of making a doubleknit skirt myself but worried it would be too body-hugging just by nature of the fabric.
    Love your version, it fits you just right!

  2. Amanda S. October 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Love it! And great styling, too, those tights are TDF.

  3. Gertie October 28, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Love it! I have to tell you that the day after Mondo made that purple houndstooth pencil skirt, I went to Mood and found the fabric to make myself a Jenny skirt with. Great minds! :)

  4. CGCouture October 28, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    You are so fast! This skirt turned out really cute, maybe I’ll give doubleknit a try. :-)

  5. Irene October 28, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Awesome skirt. Seems to me that there is something similar lurking in my fabric cupboard, chosen by my daughter. A little scary for me, but now that I see it made up on you, I know it will work on her grace. Thanks!

  6. Rachel October 28, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    I LOVE that skirt and your entire outfit!!! I just love those tights.

  7. Stacy October 28, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Looks great! And I love the way you’ve paired the dotted tights with the houndstooth. Mondo would approve! :)

  8. Bex October 28, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    The skirt looks great and really comfortable – nice work matching the pattern. I just finished watching the last season of PR – can’t wait for this one that you are so excited about to come out on DVD!

  9. betty October 28, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    I like Mondo’s designs a lot, but I have to admit that after watching the part 1 of the finale, I’m liking Andy’s stuff more.

  10. Shannon October 28, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Pure Awesome-ness! Love the tights with it and the whole ensemble is brilliant!

  11. didyoumakethat October 28, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    I love the skirt with those tights. You can’t go wrong with a Jenny skirt.

  12. keeralynn October 28, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Love that skirt, especially with that cardi! So cute. Your styling is always so spot on!

  13. sue H. October 28, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Great job in matching the pattern in the skirt and your choice of making it into an “outfit” is so now.

  14. Patty October 28, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Yay! Awesome! I’ll be sad too if Mondo doesn’t take it. And if Gretchen DOES, doooo…..

    You inspired me and I went and got the black and white polka dot sweater knit from Joann’s and a purple/black woven (SUPER woven!) for a skirt to make my very own mondo-inspired outfit! Jenny + fitted sweater, here I come!

  15. Curry October 29, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    Great skirt! Love the entire outfit.

  16. Antoinette October 29, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    I, too, have bad memories of Whitesnake videos, but only the best memories of some Whitesnake songs. ;) Nice skirt! Channeling Mondo very well.

  17. Michele October 29, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Love, love, love that skirt!!!! You put together an adorable outfit as well!!!

  18. one good apple October 29, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Love the pattern of the skirt! x

  19. martha-caknitter October 30, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Love the skirt! No doubt you’ve watched Project Runway by now and heard the disappoing that went around the world. What a shame. Like you said, Mondo will be great regardless of the outcome. Team Mondo!

  20. kala October 31, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Great outfit!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Previews! (and me-made June days 9-11) « Green apples - June 11, 2011

    [...] Skirt: Burdastyle Jenny (blogged here.) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

