11-17-10: more refashioning

18 Nov

Jacket: simplicity 2443

top: Alfani, thrifted

Skirt: Vintage (1970s?) Evan Picone skirt, thrifted and shortened

Boots: Kensie Girl

This skirt was at my most frequent thrift stop for at least six months.  I liked the color and pattern, but the length (midcalf) was not good for me.  I finally brought it home once I really started altering things.  I shortened it by 12 (!) inches, and replaced the buttons (one of them was broken.)  I find that I’m really loving this shape of skirt for fall (short dirndl with a high, fitted waistband.)

This outfit took me through: teaching, choir rehearsal, singing at a latin mass, and dinner and drinks with friends.

My friends have started to really notice that I make my own clothes, and I’m starting to regularly field questions about them when I go out.  Somehow I feel like I’m letting them down when I wear something storebought!  Actually, I’m surprised by how positive the reaction has been – somehow I was expecting a little bit more snobbishness, but my friends (who are, admittedly, artsy city types) seem to be into the idea.

I’m trying to spread out my outfit posts a little (maybe you’ve noticed!)  It gives me a reason to post more often, and makes Wednesday less stressful.  So far the experience has been positive – I find myself very motivated to be creative, and not just throw on whatever.

I have the muslin cut for my cord shirtdress, but so far no time to work on it.  I have a dress rehearsal tomorrow night, and a concert Friday… but after that I am off work for an entire week!  I can’t wait to see how much I can accomplish with the time off.

8 Responses to “11-17-10: more refashioning”

  1. nina November 18, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    Hi,
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now after finding it while clicking through other knitting blogs.

    I’m a knitter myself, but I’ve been so impressed by how lovely your finished clothes look that I’m finally going to try doing some dressmaking myself.

    I’m sure it’ll take me a while to get up to your standard (and speed!) of sewing, but it’s nice to know there’s hope for novices.

    Happy stitching!
    Nina

  2. Aldara November 18, 2010 at 4:41 am #

    Ooooh, that skirt is beautiful, such a lovely shape and fabric! And I dig you boots…

  3. Aldara November 18, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Ooooh, such a lovely skirt! I love the fabric and shape! And I dig your purple boots…

  4. didyoumakethat November 18, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    My work colleagues love the fact that I knit and sew. I’ve even started a little knitting class at work! There is a bit of shyness around wearing your handmade clothes, I agree, but generally people have been so supportive. Great re-fashion, by the way! I still love that jacket.

  5. Deborah November 18, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I love your thrifty finds. And love your boots.

  6. Carolyn November 18, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Wait until you get to the stage where people start to go, “oh I won’t ask because I KNOW you made that!” LOL! This is a cute outfit!

  7. Victoria Baylor November 18, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Such a pretty look! I’m loving the color palette!

  8. Trystan November 21, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Hee, whenever I wear something slightly non-mainstream, coworkers ask “did you make that?” It’s usually thrifted / vintage or just something unordinary. But them knowing I sew means “you must make a lot of your clothes.” LOL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

