In a 70s sort of mood…

I go through phases with my clothing.  Sometimes I cannot live without my full-skirted 50s dresses.  Other times I am attracted to the mod 60s (though they are not, it must be said, super great for my body type.)  Right now?  I’m having a minor obsession with some Studio 54 inspired 70s fashion.  It was sparked when I purchased this dress at a thrift store last month:

 

 

 

This dress has zero hanger appeal, but I had returned a dress that had major holes, and my thrift insists on an exchange rather than a refund.  With 15 minutes to store close I grabbed this dress, which had the advantage of being actual vintage.  I figured that if I didn’t like it, I could unload it to someone else who would.  To my surprise, this dress is really flattering, even at the just below the knee length!  I’ve always avoided these sorts of drapey frocks, but now I seem to have a whole new category of dresses to lust after!  To that end, I’ve bought this pattern on ebay:

Some DVF dress patterns can go for up to $100 (the famous wrap dress.)  This one?  Five dollars.  Apparently I am the only one wanting to revive this moment in fashion history!  The pattern calls for draped fabrics – challis, double georgette, crepe etc, or single knits.  I have a ton of knits, so I might try that  – either a matte jersey or an ITY.

It amuses me to look at old photos and realize that pantyhose with sandals used to be totally acceptable!  And, come to think of it, I haven’t owned a pair of regular pantyhose in at least 10 years – crazy!

14 thoughts on “In a 70s sort of mood…

  1. mick says:

    Love that dress! And also, thanks for the post yesterday. It turns out I’m a completely classic 8 shape and never knew it; that link was incredibly helpful!

  2. I love the dress and the pattern – I remember those very well. There are some current ones out there with similar lines, esp in tops. And hose with sandals, of course I remember that well, I wore them in middle school like that. After that I wore pumps or closed toe flats. If they are sheer, I think it would be fine for a dressy event. Personally, I do not like bare legs for dressier events, unless I am wearing slide heels.

  3. kasia says:

    Would love to see the dress on!!! I have to admit, I still missing your knitting, but I still check your blog daily because your fashion sense and photos inspire me too!!!! Thanks!

  4. Hatty says:

    Yes, panty hose with sandals can look bad around the toes, but they are a way better look than the cold, bare, chunky, corn-beef legs of today….

  5. Susan says:

    I made this dress, and loved it! I wore it for my senior recital in college – and to give you some perspective in time, I am now 53 years old. I even have the photos! I used a sloshy maroon fabric, as this one is all about the drape. The pattern is long gone, so thanks for showing me that picture once again!

Leave a Reply

