Finished: Audrey in Unst sweater

20 May

Pattern: Audrey in Unst

Yarn: Manos Silk blend, 750 yds

Notions:  1/2″ black buttons

I am pleased to announce that I think my knitting dry spell is officially over!  I still can’t say exactly what caused it… perhaps bad associations with my past, or even just burning out – but I’m back again!

This is the Audrey in Unst pattern, from the Fall 2009 Twist Collective.  I wanted to make this sweater as soon as I saw it – the lace was pretty, and I knew the cropped shape would work well with the full skirted dresses that I keep making.

I bought this yarn (Manos Silk Blend) about two years ago, at Loop yarns in Chicago.  I loved the pretty color at the time, and immediately knit part of it up into a shawl… which then sat, unfinished for years.  I frogged it to make this sweater, which I do not regret.  I wore this outfit to a concert I was singing in tonight (chamber choir music) and then out for dinner/wine with choir friends.

The flat shoes are very practical for standing up, and I only took the sweater off when I was actually singing (old stone churches are very cold, even in May!)

About the pattern: I quite liked it.  The twisted rib is really pretty, and I love the overall shape.  I did shorten the cardigan and the sleeves, because I was limited on yarn.  I used smaller buttons than called for in the pattern (my buttonholes came out small.)  It does have some gaping if I button it up, as I mentioned, but for the moment I’m leaving it as it – I do not wear cardigans buttoned entirely!  I will do my buttonhole tutorial on a different sweater, but I haven’t forgotten!

I’m not a huge fan of one piece knitting.  In this case, the body was fine, but I found the sleeves a bit unwieldy.  I would rather knit them flat and seam them in.  The sleevecap shaping is great, using short rows to get a set in sleeve effect on a seamless sweater.  It was a bit hard on my hands though, so I’m not sure I would do it again.

The yarn was lovely in texture and color, but I must warn you – it does pill quite badly!  I’m not sure I would use it again.  I didn’t alternate skeins, though I know you should on a hand dyed yarn.  Even so, I think the skeins all matched pretty closely – even the one line I can see (over the ribbing) does not bother me.

The pattern is highly recommended!  It’s not for absolute beginners, because the sleeves and the i-cord neck binding are both a bit difficult at first.  But if you’ve made a sweater or two, go for it!

23 Responses to “Finished: Audrey in Unst sweater”

  1. Laura May 20, 2011 at 2:55 am #

    This one turned out gorgeous! I love the short sleeves. :)

  2. Debi May 20, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    Beautiful sweater! I absolutely love the colour!!

  3. Debra May 20, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    Beautiful sweater! I love the shape, and the color!

  4. Roobeedoo May 20, 2011 at 3:34 am #

    It’s a gorgeous colour! And maybe the buttonholes will settle as the main body of the cardigan “relaxes” with wear?

  5. didyoumakethat May 20, 2011 at 3:45 am #

    That is beautiful. I’m the same as you – in a massive knitting lull. I really want to break out of it!

  6. Carolin May 20, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    Finally some knitting again! It looks great! :)

  7. Karin van D. May 20, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    It’s a lovely sweater, very cute. And indeed beautiful paired with a full skirted dress. Nice!

  8. Victoria May 20, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Beautiful–the color and style are just lovely!

  9. sarah {The Student Knitter} May 20, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    It looks very lovely! Paired with the dark green dress.. LOVE!

  10. canary May 20, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    It’s beautiful just as it is!

  11. Amanda S. May 20, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    This is so beautiful! The shape and color are just perfect for you. Great job, and I’m glad your knitting dry spell is over!

  12. Sarah May 20, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    It’s so pretty and I love the colour!

  13. Emily May 20, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Beautiful! it looks fabulous on you!

  14. Steph May 20, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    So pretty! I love the color and the style!

    I also wanted to say that when I decided to take up knitting your blog was a huge inspiration to me; it made me truly believe that it was possible to create handmade items that didn’t look homemade. I am still a newbie knitter, working on finishing up my very first cardigan, but whenever I get frustrated I look to your blog for inspiration. I’m really glad to see you’ve gotten your knitting mojo back!

  15. Stacybeads May 20, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Gorgeous! I love knitting one-piece sweaters, because I so hate sewing knits together. Weird…I love knitting, and I love sewing, but I hate sewing my knitting!

  16. Deborah May 20, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Gorgeous little sweater.

  17. Kristen May 20, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Love the sweater. The color and shape are so flattering on you. Can’t wait to see your completed Anais sweater.

  18. shannon May 21, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    So pretty and such a yummy color.

  19. shari May 21, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Beautiful!

  20. ShirleyN May 21, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Yay for an end to the dry spell! I sometimes will go without knitting sometimes up to a year or longer (just time constraints or less than stellar results of past projects or lack of a good pattern). I like how you paired the cardi with the dress!

  21. ooobop May 22, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Wow this is soooo lovely. The colour, and the style. It suits you soooo much. I’m so glad you were forced to make the sleeves shorter. Its perfect :-)

  22. lynne May 23, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Everything about the sweater is delightful…style, yarn, color. well done!

  23. fredericaknits June 10, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Lovely cardigan! Beautiful colour choice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

