Vogue 1179

17 Jul

Pattern: Vogue 1179, a DKNY design

Fabric: ITY Jersey from fabric.com (sold out) 2 yards

Notes:

I decided to make this dress on a whim, inspired by Carolyn’s beautiful version.  I think this may be the fastest dress pattern I’ve made – I spent maybe 2 hours on it yesterday before going out (including cutting) and then perhaps an hour this afternoon after church!  The pattern consists of only three pieces – front, back, and cowl neck.

I was really nervous about how this would look on me – I typically avoid dresses without some sort of a waist seam, as I like waist definition as a rule.  In fact, my wadder last week (McCalls 6347, which I do not recommend at all) failed because it was semi fitted and had no waist seam.  It just looked dumpy on me.  This dress though?  I’m thrilled with it!  I cut a size 6 in the shoulders and upper chest, and blended to an 8 from the waist down.    I would ordinarily cut a larger size (between a 10 and 12 usually) but I wanted to make sure it wasn’t too overwhelming, and the measurements  on the pattern checked out.

This dress is even pretty flattering from the side and back (for a dress that is essentially a pleated sack!)  The only thing I might caution is to watch out for the pleats if you are on the large busted size – the dress pretty much hangs down from them, and I had to make sure to wear a non padded bra or it looked odd.

I did not use the instructions, as I didn’t need them, but I do know that I constructed the cowl differently.  I basted the cowl WS together, and then sewed both sides of the cowl to the neckline.  I felt no need to hide that seam, as the instructions ask, because you can’t see it anyway.  I also changed the armholes – the instructions called for putting clear elastic in them to stabilize, but I just did a baby hem.  My knit is lightweight, so it worked out.

This fabric was part of a batch of ITY knits I bought from fabric.com earlier this year.  I’ve almost used them up – it’s time to get more!  I really love ITY knits, though the quality varies.  My machine sews them well, and they have a lovely drape that you don’t always get from cotton or rayon knits.  This particular piece of fabric has a crazy print, so I’m glad I was able to find a pattern that doesn’t require breaking the print in half.  In fact, I totally recommend this pattern for this sort of fabric.

I took exactly the hem called for.  Four inches seems like an awfully deep hem, but it helps to control the volume on the bottom of the dress.  I topstitched the hem down with a single row of stitching, and you really don’t notice it in this print at all.

I would definitely make this dress again, and I recommend the pattern.  Sometimes it’s nice to try something new!  One thing I’m working on right now is making clothes that are practical for me.  I find that I wear my knit dresses more often than anything else.  I have to dress up all the time, but I usually am singing or playing when that happens – and either way I need to be able to breathe and move!    I’m actually almost out of knits, so I’m planning an order!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

23 Responses to “Vogue 1179”

  1. Tia Dia July 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I love your version! This dress seems to look good on whoever wears it. Yours is particularly pretty in that lovely print. The colours are gorgeous.

  2. jenyjenny July 17, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Love it! You did a marvelous job and I enjoyed your remarks. Knits are fantastic, thanks for blogging and sharing your experiences. I like to read Sewing Fanatic, Carolyn’s blog too.

  3. fashiondesigndreamsMegan July 17, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    That’s really cute, I like how it turned out! Great print!

  4. dharma July 17, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    The dress looks great! Love the fabric choice.

  5. susan July 17, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    That’s a lovely, flattering dress on you! I love the neckline especially. I’m recently discovering that drapy cowl-y necklines work for me (I’m small busted, too).

  6. Katinka July 17, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Super-cute result! :)

  7. CGCouture July 17, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Love the colors of that print! Definitely something I could see myself wearing. :-) And the dress looks like a winner–well-fitting without being too clingy (which seems to be hard to do with knits).

  8. Carolyn July 17, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Thanks for thinking my version is great but yours is beautiful too! Isn’t this a wonderful pattern and isn’t it amazing how this works on so many different body types! You should definitely make it again.

  9. Brandy July 17, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I really like this! I’m so happy you posted it because I have some really great floral knit fabric that I’ve been waiting to be inspired to use. I think I just found my pattern:)

  10. Debi July 18, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    LOVELY dress! You have such beautiful fabric!

  11. Sue July 18, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    The dress looks fabulous on you, the colour and style.

  12. Karin July 18, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    What a great version of this dress! It’s a sack dress that doesn’t look like a sack. I am out of time for this summer, but you tempt me to try one for next summer!

  13. Louise July 18, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Really cute! Lovely colors.

  14. Amy (quixoticpixels) July 18, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    You’re really rocking this style! I love this. I wouldn’t have looked twice at that pattern, but now that I’ve seen your version and Carolyn’s…well, I’m seriously tempted :)

  15. keeralynn July 18, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    love the dress on you! looks great. The print is not something I would have picked, but I like it made up.

    http://www.bigonmodesty.wordpress.com

  16. Maria July 18, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Sometimes you need a wide hem. The fabric and style look fab on you.

  17. jacquie July 19, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Fantastic dress. That pattern is a winner. Every version I’ve seen is flattering.

  18. antoinette July 19, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    I just pulled a red knit and this pattern for a “vacation project”! Let’s see if I get it sewn up. I am nervous about that 44″ bustline and it’s so hard to tell if that’s just the right effect or if I will get swallowed up in it. Thanks for the heads-up on the 4″ hem, too.

  19. dale July 22, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    I find designer Vogue patterns weird. They give instructions as if the fabric is woven?? fold over knit hems and facing? crazy! love the dress.

  20. Linda T July 30, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I just picked up this pattern today. Can’t wait to try it. Your version is so cute!

  21. Victoria Baylor July 31, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Love this! You look so pretty and stylish:)

  22. Louise August 8, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I love this dress. It looks really comfortable. Like you my preference is to wear dresses. I wish I could sew. In stores I see dresses I like but I don’t like the fabric or vice-versa. Also I think it’s very weird that when shopping for clothes my size goes from size 6 to 12 – depending on the store. Do you find the same with Pattern’s? Say McCall’s patterns fits bigger than Simplicity? Or is there a more standard sizing in patterns and they all fit the same way? Best to you – enjoy the hot summer you’re having, up here in Vancouver BC we are just this week starting to have hot weather (in the 20’s C, I think that’s in the 70’s F)

  23. theperfectnose March 4, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    This looks awesome, the fabric rocks! I got the pattern because I saw so many cool versions across the blogosphere (and because I had a gift card) but winters almost here and I haven’t made it so I’m doing a giveaway.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

