Spring 2012 McCalls and Simplicity

21 Dec

Yes, it’s very early for spring (although never too early for me!)  I’m not making a lot of progress on my winter plans due to being incredibly busy this season, but I never mind dreaming of new things!  I have finished one project that will be reviewed this week.  I wasn’t thrilled with the product so I’ve been avoiding, but I think it’s important to give both good and bad reviews!

Anyway, Simplicity has some decent patterns, but I’m really excited about the new McCalls – they have some new designers, giving the collection a different feel from the last few.   The last few sets of their patterns have done nothing for me, and seemed aimed at teenagers.  There is still plenty of that, but most of the dresses can go either way.  Let’s start with Simplicity:

Simplicity 1913:  Ok, so I sort of feel like they’ve released this pattern before (it’s very similar to several of the project runway patterns… 2473 for example in the 3rd, non modeled view) but it’s cute if you don’t have anything similar!I don’t think either of the modeled versions are very well fitted (they look big on the model) but the drawing to the far left is very cute.  I actually have that other pattern, so I don’t know if I would buy this one.

 

Simplicity 1915 and 1916 – I’ve been wearing the heck out of my handmade tops this winter, and I need cute ones for warmer weather. I’m not totally sold on the wisdom of the funky hemline in 1915, but I could possibly be convinced!

McCalls 6507 and 6506

I am pretty excited to see McCalls with some new designers – this is from Plenty by Tracy Reese, which I believe is her less expensive line (Vogue gets her fancier designs.)  Both of these dresses are cute, especially 6507.  I will be making both for spring!

McCalls 6518 and 6505 are both designs from Phoebe Couture.  I believe this is also the first time we’ve seen this designer in McCall’s, but I’m not positive.  I love the ruffled dress, which you all knew.  The lace dress is really pretty, though I will not be making it on account of having no call for such a dress!

McCalls 6503  and 6504- I like both sleeveless versions of 6503.   The ruffled version is similar to a vintage pattern that I own, but as that pattern isn’t my size I will make this instead!  I find myself oddly attracted to the weird hemline in 6504 – I like that it’s longer in the back rather than at the sides.  I haven’t seen that sort of hemline before, but I think it might be flattering!   I can’t quite figure out what’s going on with the seaming on these dresses – but I wouldn’t plan to make it in a print that needs matching, that’s for sure!

Finally, I really like the Kay Whitt purses in McCalls 6532

Will I make one?  Based on past experience, possibly not… but I do like the looks of them quite a bit!

I’ll be back tomorrow (hopefully) with a s0-so pattern review!

5 Responses to “Spring 2012 McCalls and Simplicity”

  1. Brandy December 21, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Maybe it’s just me, but McCall’s has been doing an excellent job of styling their looks while Simplicity seems to be taking a turn for the worse. Simplicity’s pattern pictures are looking a little dated lately. McCall’s 6503 is going in my “must have” stack by the way!

  2. Crystal December 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I am pleased with the McCall’s release, too. I haven’t looked at the Simplicity release yet. I totally think you should give the asymmetric hemlines a try. I have always felt a bit repelled by them, but for some reason this past summer I really embraced it, and you know, I think they are rather flattering. I bought two tops that had the longer shirttail hem in the back, and just today a picked up a clearance summer top that had the exact same hemline as the pattern you showed.

  3. thayer December 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    McCall’s 6507 looks to be identical to an awesome silk dress that was for sale through Anthropologie earlier in the year! (which sadly I cannot find a picture of online)

  4. Catherine Denton December 22, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    McCalls 6506 looks like something I’d love. I also like the 1915 Simplicity shirt pattern. And guess what? I’m getting a sewing machine for Christmas! You’ve totally inspired me. Of course, I’ll start with little things–like hankies. But I’m hoping to gain momentum and eventually sew some clothes.
    My Blog

  5. Lise Petrauskas September 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    I’m currently making McCall’s 6504. I like the fit on me very much, and only time will tell how the hem wears. It seems really long, but my husband says he likes it. The seaming is pretty basic. I’m probably going to use an overlock to finish the seams for this first draft. I might try something that lies flat if I don’t like the way it looks and feels. Have you had a chance to make any of these dresses yet?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

