FO: Puff Sleeved Cardigan

 

Pattern: Feminine Puff Sleeved Cardigan, from Fitted Knits

Yarn: Cotton Fleece in Pinecone, almost 3 skeins

Needles: US 5 and 4

Mods: Lots.  I knit far fewer increase rows than called for in the pattern, in order to achieve a smaller size than written.  I also had a larger gauge, so I had to adjust for that.  I lengthened the body, and I did the lace in all stockinette.  I removed two repeats of the lace pattern to comphensate for my smaller number of stitches, and it worked out fine.  In general, this sweater involved more math that I would really like.  I wish this book had more 32″ sizes!
Notes: I am pleased with this sweater, with one exception.  The buttonband.  I have tried and tried to get the buttons to work, but they just don’t.  The sweater fits fine, but the buttonbands are sort of floppy.  Because of this, I’m considering some sort of a configuration involving snaps.  I cannot deal with it coming undone all the time (and this is after I sewed the buttonholes way smaller.)  Other thoughts… the pattern was well written, although I do wish it had included measurements in inches instead of rows.  The collar is also a tad big (I would use smaller needles on that if I could do it again) but it isn’t too bad.  I love the shape, the color, and the purl rows.  But it is still a work in progress as far as I’m concerned, because I know I won’t wear it until the fastener problem is fixed!

Of course, the most important part is that Leon approves.  And he does.

19 thoughts on “FO: Puff Sleeved Cardigan

  1. This is such a cute cardigan, and the brown yarn gives it a bit of sophisticated polish. Your mods turned out great- it fits perfectly.

  2. Wow! Beautiful! I really wish that everyone sized patterns down to 32 -even 30. I just don’t have enough time in my day to resize any pattern. Have you ever thought of design?

  3. Wow. I like yours much better that than the one in the book. I just had the same problem with button closure after I finished my Cherry. I ended up using snaps and lining fabric. It really helped. I have been lurking on your blog for quite a while and I really love it.
    P.S. Thanks for the tip on the Yarnzilla Sale. I did my share on Rowan Yarns too.

  4. Looks great – really very nice! I don’t have this book, but after seeing what a cute sweater this is, I will be putting it on my wish list!

  5. wow it looks great! I think yours looks better than the on in the book. I’m definitely considering making it now. I’m curious, do you think the yarn you used contributed to the problem with the button band? or do you think any yarn will have that problem?

  6. It looks great! Great job on the mods.

    Hmm, some grosgrain ribbon sewed onto the backside of the button bands might shore things up a bit…

  7. Your cardigan is lovely! I came across your blog completely by accident. I made a puff-sleeved feminine cardigan, too, and I too had trouble with the button bands. I blogged my solution here: http://tinyurl.com/yp4z8s. It seems to have given the bands the solidity they needed to stop gapping. I’ve worn it three times since I did the bands over, and I am happy with it.

  8. How pretty! It is so wearable. The color is great and it is perfect for an outfit or just to throw on when it is a bit cool and you need something else! Great job.

  9. Your cardi is absolutly gorgeous and like others have said, it looks nicer than the one in the book. It is good to see the detail at the back too. I would knit this but I have wide shoulders so don’t think that it will suit me!

  10. This is definitely the cutest puff sleeved cardigan I have seen so far. I’m working on one of these and now I wish I would have knit it in a smaller size because I really like the close fit on yours.

    I really like all of your other FOs too!

  11. This looks great! I am about to start this project with the KnitPicks yarn it calls for…maybe it will help eliminate the button band problem? Your other finished works are beautiful…very impressive!

Leave a Reply

