Day of randomness

I’m trapped on the other side of a door from my knitting – There’s a wasp in that room, and I’m leaving it until Marc gets home.  Possibly I have a phobia.  So… it seems like a good day to post about my progress on some random progress.  First up is the Boteh scarf.  I’ve been using it as my carrying project.  It’s perfect because it takes me about 30 minutes to finished one motif, and that’s exactly the length of any breaks I have at work.  I’ve finished eight so far.

I’ve also started a new project, the Victorian Shoulderette by Sivia Harding.  The yarn I’m using is Fleece Artist merino in Moss.  I’m not in general a huge fan of variegated yarns for lace, so I’m not sure about it yet.  This pattern is mostly garter stitch though, so I’m thinking it may work out.  I already like it better in this photo than I thought I would.  I was looking for a quick lacy project, and this fit the bill nicely.

I swatch for an Orangina, but I don’t think I’m ready to start that yet.  I’m worried that I might be short on yardage a bit, and I don’t want to get started only to run out of yarn.  The stitch pattern is fun!

And finally, today in the mail I received the yarn for what I’m calling the “80s Sweater project.”  The yarn is Berroco Glace, 100% rayon that I got for a song on clearance.  It’s also the same yarn called for in the 1985 pattern.  I can’t wait to get started – I think this will be my next sweater.  I may leave off the bobbles… or maybe not.

11 thoughts on “Day of randomness

  1. Beautiful! I also love the idea of the ’80s sweater. I used to have hair like that when I was in the 5th grade. Man, did I look cool!

    Good idea to wait till the wasp leaves or gets left by someone else. Don’t go near it.

  2. lol, I hate when that happens! I’ll be working in the office at home and some how a bee or (sadly) a fly has gotten and freaks me out. I have to shut the door till my boyfriend gets home so he can get rid of it. Then somehow the bug disappears by the time he gets home.
    Have you worked with Glace before? i’m making a tank/shell out of it and it’s pretty heavy. But I spose that means it’ll drape nicely too.
    I love that leafy scarf you’re doing. I’ll have to track that pattern down.

  3. Oooh, those hostile bugs are nasty! (I consider disposing of such things to be man’s work. What else are all those muscles for, if not to vanquish huge, hairy, hissing bugs?) I LOVE that mossy green yarn, although I am also ambivalent about variegated yarns for lace–ever since the endless lace edging that completely disappeared into the gold/cream/blue nubby yarn I was using. But you never know–it could turn out to be stunning.

  4. I really like that ’80’s sweater. If it was me, I’d definitely leave off the bobbles, but I also might change the bottom ribbing, which looks a little dated. I once made a boatneck sweater similar to that, from an old Rowan mag, except that on the bottom, I made a 1X1 band of ribbing on the bottom. It went around the bottom going the other away – know what I mean? So, I knit the entire circumference first and then picked up and knit the body stitches along one of the edges. I think THAT would be cute!

  5. Ya know, my mom has knitting magazines going back to the 70s and I really like some of the 80s styles (excepting the giant drop shoulder stuff) as much as what I see now. I can spend hours at her house browsing.

    Looks like you have a lot of fun projects in the works. . .

  6. I really like how your scarf is coming along. It’s nice to have a project that you can carry along with you and work on when the moment is right. I have some Glace in my stash as well-a very pretty french blue that I got to make into a scarf.

  7. I’m excited to see how your 80’s sweater will turn out. I have the exact same yarn, albeit in a blue, and it’s been sitting in my closet for an eternity (well, maybe just a year). I haven’t had any inspiration for it. I’d like to see how it comes out for you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

