I had to share…

Visual representation of the amount Knitpicks Gloss grows after blocking:

They are both lined up together at the top, and were the same size before blocking.  The one on top has (obviously) not been washed yet.  Of course, I expected this, since I washed my swatch, but it’s impressive to see in a larger piece of fabric… that’s two entire inches gained in length, and a bit (although somewhat less) in width.  This is why I knit my sweater to a 28″ bust before blocking.  After blocking it is perfect!  The sleeves will be a tad bit long.  I would recommend making them a bit short to compensate for the stretching.

All this means, of course, that my time waffling is officially done!  I was getting a bit tired at the end, but overall I loved knitting this sweater!  I just have to knit the neckline edging and seam, and I will have a new sweater.  It feels like it’s taken forever, but actually it will be more like 3 weeks in the end.  I am nearing the end on my Clapotis as well.  This is the problem with me and projects… having more than one just means that I pace them and they all finish at once.  It doesn’t really mean I finish them more often.

Hopefully soon I will have a finished sweater!

I was tagged for a meme by Trine, hope you all don’t mind!

1.) Name one person that made you laugh last night?

My friend Jason, at our weekly Wednesday trivia fest.

2.) What were you doing at 0800?

Sleeping.  Thursday is part of my weekend!

3.) What happened to you in 2006?

Started dating Marc in January… moved away from being in school into the “real world.”

4.) How many beverages did you have today?

1 diet pepsi, some iced tea, and a (no doubt) ungodly amount of coffee.

5.) What colour is your hairbrush?

Bright green.  And yes, that’s why I bought it!

6.) Where were you last night?

I taught until 6:30 and then went to trivia night.

7.) What colour is your front door?

White.  I love our front door because it isn’t rectangular – the building is a swiss chalet style, so the doors all have rounded tops.

8.) Where do you keep your change?

I don’t ever have any, because I almost never have any cash.  If I do get any, Marc puts it in one of the many piggy banks around the house.

9.) What’s the weather like today?

Clear and cold.  Ok – not really cold, but close enough for me!

10.) What’s the best ice cream flavour?

Banana.  I’m obsessed with banana ice cream.  But basically, anything without chocolate bits, as I’m not the biggest chocolate fan.

11.) What excites you?

Knitting (of course.)  Dreaming about new knitting projects.  Searching for a new house.

12.) Do you want to cut your hair?

Yes!  I didn’t cut it as much as usual because of the wedding, and by now I’m dying to get it shorter.  My hair isn’t very thick, so when it gets long it gets sort of straggly.

13.) Are you over the age of 25?

Yes

14.) Do you talk a lot?

It depends.  Not usually to strangers, but get me with some of my friends and I can be as talkative as anyone.  Sometimes nervousness can make me babble too.

15.) Do you watch the OC?

I watched the first season on DVD, but I was never too into it.

16.) Do you make up your own words?

No… but I have my own personal dictionary(Marc) so I don’t need to!

17.) Are you a jealous person?

Not too much, although I have had my moments.  Mostly I’ve come to realize who I am, and what I want out of life, and this cuts down on jealousy.

18.) Name a friend that starts with an ‘A’.

Althea!  She has a better “A” name than anyone I know!

19.) Name a friend that starts with a ‘K’.

Um… I know a few Katies?

20.) Who’s the first person on your received call list?

My Grandpa, calling to tell me that my old (21 years) cat Gracie passed away.  She was an outdoor cat, so she stayed with my family.  Poor kitty… but she had a good long life!

21.) What does the last text message received say?

My Sprint online password.  I don’t really use text messages, because I’m too lazy to type on the phone.

22.) Do you chew on a straw?

nope

23.) Where’s the next place you are going?

Out of town, probably Cincinnati for Thanksgiving, and then to Indianapolis soon after that (any good yarn stores around there?)  Otherwise… to work tomorrow to turn in timesheets and put up numbers, even though it’s my day off.  And maybe Target.

24.) Who’s the rudest person in your life?

I try very hard not to be around upsetting people anymore.  Life is too short

25.) What was the last thing you ate?

Green Tea Ice cream!

26.) Will you get married in the future?

I already did, so hopefully not again!

27.) What’s the best film you’ve seen in the last two weeks?

I watched a film called “A Dog’s Breakfast,” which is an idie comedy with lots of the actors from Stargate: Atlantis in it, starring and written by one of my favorites!  It was cute, if a bit odd and dark.

28.) When was the last time you did the dishes?

I load the dishwasher, does that count?

29.) Are you currently depressed?

I don’t think so, although our house search is kind of getting me down lately, and work has been a bit stressful.  I know that things will improve!

30.) Did you cry today?

Hmm… maybe.  I am emotional, so I cry all the time.

31.) What was the last thing you said aloud?
“I love you!” (said to the cat, who was cute)

32.) What car do you drive and what bumper stickers do you have on it?

I drive a Volvo S60 turbo.  We don’t have any bumper stickers, much to Marc’s sadness… his last car was a Volvo wagon and he had some very cool ones, but I like to keep a low profile.  I love my car!

33.) Why did you answer this and post it?

Because I was tagged!

6 thoughts on “I had to share…

  1. It’s interesting to see the size difference like that. I’m knitting Tangled Yoke with a Jaeger yarn that grows after washing (at least according to my swatch). As I’m knitting the largest size, it’s a lot of knitting to do while hoping that my swatches don’t lie.

    The trouble with yarns that grow is that you can’t try on as you go to check the fit. Well, you can and if it’s too big then you know that things have definitely gone wrong but being at the other end of the size spectrum to you, I’m more worried about things being to small than too big.

  2. OMG! I can’t believe it!

    Dang….I really need to not only swatch but throw them in the washer machine too! Shoot!
    Everything little thing makes a BIG difference!

    Thanks for sharing! And for the reminder to swatch AND block it!

  3. “I try very hard not to be around upsetting people anymore. Life is too short”

    Well said, and so true..!

    Nice work on your Thermal, the colour is *perfect* for you! I wish I had as much knitting time for you; lately I can only work on rather uninspiring Christmas presents in rather uninspiring yarn… Bah! 😛

    Can’t wait to see what your next project will be – I’m really thinking about making the DROPS jacket too. Everyone’s versions, no matter what yarn they choose, look so great!

Leave a Reply

