FO: Veste Everest

Pattern: Veste Everest (Interweave Knits Fall 2005) Veronik Avery

Yarn: Cascade 220 heathers, 2.5 skeins

Needles: US 5 and 3

Size made: XS

Notes: It fits!  The entire time I knit this I was worried it would be too small – the smallest size ends up 26.5″ around the bust, unstretched.  Fortunately, this pattern is very stretchy, and it fits wonderfully! I added one cable pattern repeat to the length of the body, making it a full length vest on short-waisted me.  I also did one less row of ribbing around the neckline.  Overall I’m very happy with how this sweater turned out.  It’s very hard to get the color because it’s so dark, but it really is a lovely heathered green.  The neckline could be a bit lower – I do feel that it would be more flattering as a deeper v, but it is fine as written.  I like the effect of the twisted rib around the edgings, even though it was a bit of a pain to do.

I have a hard time getting button down shirts to fit me, and I love this vest because now I can wear this shirt (it is very large on its own, but the vest compresses it nicely!)  My advice for anyone knitting this vest would be to consider some negative ease – like I said, it’s very stretchy, and when it isn’t stretched it is a really dense fabric.  I might also start the V neck a bit sooner.  These are minor quibbles though – I love it!

 

34 thoughts on “FO: Veste Everest

  1. Elinor says:

    Beautiful!!!! I love the FO. I’m knitting a cardi for my baby in the same stitch pattern in a blue Cascade 220 heather and once I finished the front and back, I wish I’d made a vest. Perhaps that will be next?

  2. Angel says:

    It is very, very cute on you!

    I am in awe at how quickly you can finish projects – it just amazes me. How do you knit so quickly???

  3. Looks wonderful! I made this vest for my mother-in-law, and I remember thinking that the twisted rib edging was a pain, too. But it’s definitely worth it. I also added a repeat to make it long enough. Well done!

  4. Hi,

    Your Veste Everest is so beautiful. I’ve never made a vest but this is really inspiring me. It would be so cute to wear at my work!

    Not commented before but I really enjoy reading your blog. Its my first day back at work today after Christmas and as I have no access to the internet at home I had about five lovely posts to catch up on – Your FO’s are always gorgeous.

    Hope 2008 is good for you.

    Victoria.

  5. It looks amazing! I’ve been meaning to knit a vest (something I can wear to work) for ages because I haven’t found a pattern that I really love. I think this is the one, thanks!

  6. Rae-Ann says:

    I knit this in noro aurora in the 2nd size and it was a little big (it definitely needs some negative ease) and a little short. I’m in the process of swatching ultra alpaca to do a second vest and I’m debating about the size. Do you have any idea what amount of ease the xs has when finished? I love your FO and even though I never comment I read your posts regularly. You are great in the inspiration category. thanks!

  7. I love your work, it looks very nice and you look to work fast also ! Wow… I’m so jealous I have been far from my needles for the hole holiday ! Even though… I am realy pleased to see what other knitter does !

    Continue the good work !

  8. What a beautiful vest! It’s great with that shirt, too.

    I’m a total vest wearer, but I’ve never knit one. This might just be the inspiration I need to get on that!

Leave a Reply

