FO: Empire Waist Cardigan

Pattern: Empire Waist Cardigan by Pam Allen, from Classic Elite 9098 New Harbor

Needles: US 4 and 3

Yarn: Elann Luna in Midnight Sky

Notes: Excuse the unflattering, too big pants – it’s laundry time here!  Anyway, I love this sweater.    I knit the XS size, largely without alteration.  I did knit only 1/2 inch of ribbing on the bottom, but other than that it’s to specs.   This sweater feels very much like something I might want to buy in a store – it’s a classic yet modern cut, and I can see myself wearing it all the time.

Because the top of the sweater is knit sideways, I did have an operator error moment.  At one point I was supposed to knit the back to a certain # of inches and then go onto the sleeves.  I didn’t realize I should measure the neck opening side, not the bottom of the back, and ended up with a tiny bodice and much ripping back.  So be sure you know where you are when knitting this.  Other than that, the pattern was very clear.  Picking up for the skirt, and then the increases for width were time consuming but not confusing.

The yarn was great, and I would use it again.  It is a bit splitty, so picking up stitches wasn’t fun at all, but the results were worth it – it’s drapey and lightweight, perfect for our hot summers!  The marled color was interesting without being odd looking.  And it was an excellent value at under $3 a ball.

The sweater did stretch on washing, and now it’s perfect – it was a little small in the top before washing.  I highly recommend this pattern, and am looking forward to knitting more classic elite patterns now that Pam Allen is doing such a great job there.

