crafts · finished objects · Sewing

Vogue 1258

Pattern: Vogue 1258, a Vena Cava design

Fabric: ITY knit, 2 yards (from fabric.com)

Notes: Vogue 1258 is not your average knit dress!  I chose this design as part of my current project – trying new silhouettes, and rejecting the notion that I need to hide certain parts of my body.  Vogue claims that this dress is suitable for the pear shaped figure (abbreviated as a triangle on the envelope.)  I found that claim to be somewhat dubious when I first saw the fall patterns.  Is that true?  Well, that depends on how comfortable you are with emphasizing the lower half of your body.  There are a lot of pleats and pockets all jammed together at the hipline.  But you know what?  I think I really like it!

It does not, in my opinion, look much like the envelope photo.  For one thin, the sleeves are longer and less cap-like than they appeared at first, which is fine with me.  The front drape has more volume, though that may be sizing.  The break for the sizes came between 8 and 10, so I bought the larger size.  This is a straight size 10, but I think an eight would have been more similar to the photo.

The other difference (and my only real issue) is the back hemline.  The weight of the pleats and pockets, combined with the ties (which do pull at the back a bit) cause the back hemline to pull up a little.   If I made this dress again I would allow for extra length back there.  I’m emphasizing it in this photo (the pockets cause it to look worse) but that’s something to watch out for!  It’s wearable either way.  It does make me look a little wider in the back than I am, again due to the pockets (which fall open to the sides a bit when not in use) but that doesn’t really bother me.  I do really like the way the bias cut skirt lined up in this print!

Alterations to the pattern: I shortened the dress by 4 inches at the hem, so mine is not as pegged (tapered) as the original.  It went to just below my knee without the alteration, which I don’t find flattering.  I also omitted the topstitching on the sleeve bands, though I did topstitch the seams where called for.  I really think this is an excellent pattern, and one which should flatter a variety of figures.  I wasn’t super excited by the first Vena Cava patterns, but I’m so glad I tried this one!

By the way, can you tell I’ve currently got one camera lens that I love, and one that I cannot get to take nice photos?  I’m on the lookout for a good multi-purpose lens, but I find all the different types to be very confusing.  I’ve currently got a 50mm, which I love, and a zoom lens (is that the right terminology?) that I don’t, as it doesn’t focus well and tends to get terrible lens flare.  I find that using the SLR has a learning curve, but I’m trying!

 

29 thoughts on “Vogue 1258

  1. Love this dress on you, and I’m happy to read that the parts you might have thought twice about aren’t bothering you, because I’m not seeing any flaws here. Oh, and you have such pretty eyes!!

  2. Very nice dress!! I really like the colors on you!

    My favorite lens is my 50mm 1.8…

    The ‘kit’ lens that came with my camera is rubbish… Well… maybe not *rubbish*, but it’s not very good… Unless I’m outdoors…

    I have a 70-300mm (with macro) that I enjoy using, but it’s really more of an outdoors lens, or very brightly lit room lens…

    For the lens flare, have you tried a lens hood? Another idea is to have a bright day, but photograph in the shade… use trees (or anything really), and set the camera up in the shade…

    Pioneer Woman has a great photography section on her blog, with contributing photographers who have awesome tips. http://thepioneerwoman.com/photography/

    Good luck! When you’re shopping for a lens, go for something with the lowest f stop you can afford… I think you’ll get the best milage out of something like that.

    Also… not sure how far you’ve dabbled with the custom white balance settings on your camera, but I have a paint chip (Glidden ‘Seal Grey’ GLN46)… I got it at Home Depot, and I set my white balance using that, and it really helps with the color correction. I’m thinking back to your post about thrifting and how the colors weren’t right… Since I started using a grey card, my kids have stopped being white with major blue undertones, to white with healthy pink undertones, lol.

  3. This is such a pretty dress on you! You are absolutely beautiful in the last shot. I’m so glad this pattern worked out for you and it’s nice to see it made up in a print.

  4. I’m another one who thought the pattern envelope was uninspiring, but your dress is amazing! And I know you’ve been thinking a lot on silhouettes- this is seriously flattering on you. The sleeves being just that little bit longer balance out the skirt so perfectly! Far better-looking than the envelope photo. It makes me want to give the pattern a try!

  5. Very beautiful dress on you! I wasn’t tempted by this pattern when it first came out, but now I’ve seen 3 awesome versions and have to have one too! Great job trying something new – it definitely paid off!

  6. I love this dress on you! I didn’t think I liked it b/c it looked so tight and long in the pattern pic, but with your changes it makes it look much more wearable. I’m totally going to make it!

  7. I agree with the masses – your dress & you look fab!

    Question for you… How do you determine what length is flattering on you? Is there a way you can explain it that it’d be helpful to others like me who don’t have a clue as to what skirt length is best?

    Time & again, I’m impressed with how well you can take a pattern or thrift shop find, and “know” what to do to it to make it fit you all over including how much to shorten it.

    Thanks,
    Carrie

  8. Beautiful dress. And thank you for your honestly about the way the dress fits and response to the body and body moment. I like the silhouette and was thinking about trying this dress.

Leave a comment