crafts · finished objects · knitting

FO: Step Socks

Pattern: Plain stockinette socks, with welsh heel and star toe (from Knitting Vintage Socks.)

Yarn: Austermann Step, about 3/4 of a skein

Needles: US 0, Knitpicks Harmony DPNs for the one on my left foot, metal knitpicks dpns for the right foot.

Notes: I love the colors of this yarn, but I hated the actual yarn, which was splitty and thin.  I’m not a big fan of either the heel or toe I tried here, but it’s always good to try new things!  I like kitchenering my toes – it feels too fiddly to decrease down and then pull the yarn through.  My biggest discovery here?  That I have radically differing gauges in wooden vs metal dpns.  My gauge is much tighter with the metal dpns, as you can see in the photo.  The other sock will no doubt end up being a bit too big, since socks stretch, but the one knitted on metal needles is just right.  I enjoyed knitting with both needles, which were nicer than my usual dpn experience (crystal palace dpns usually.)