finished objects · Sewing

Jenny + Mondo

Pattern: Jenny from Burdastyle

Fabric: Hot pink houndstooth doubleknit, 1.5 yards

Tights: H&M

Sweater: 525 America (from TJ Maax

Shoes: Gianni Binni last season

Notes: I have completed my Mondo-esque skirt, just in time to watch the finale tonight!   I’d made the Jenny skirt before, so this project went very smoothly – I just cut a size smaller than usual, to account for the stretch.  I cut the waistband pieces on the crossgrain so that I wouldn’t have to match all that houndstooth (though I did match the back seam.)

The skirt was shortened by about 2 inches and hemmed with a catchstitch by hand.  No lining – I am wearing a half-slip instead.  I was going to line with tricot, but I felt like the tricot wasn’t as stretch as my fabric, and I didn’t want to have to account for that.  No back slit, because the skirt is so stretchy.  I also omitted the zipper because I was in a hurry.  I can get it on, though I confess that I wouldn’t really recommend leaving out a zipper on this style.  I completely recommend making the Jenny skirt in doubleknit.  I know Burdastyle has a knit skirt (Melissa?) that is similar, but in my opinion this is better, because it has darts.  These sorts of interlock or doubleknit skirts are everywhere this season – I’ve seen them from Ann Taylor to Forever 21.  I like them, it’s dressy but you get the ease of a knit skirt.  They do remind me of the early 90s, but oh well – I can rock them again!  I think it’s important not to make a knit skirt too tight, to avoid looking like a vintage video vixen… but maybe that’s just me, and some bad memories of Whitesnake videos.

I won’t get to watch the finale on time – I have a rehearsal that runs until 9:00, and then I have to get dinner, but after that my husband and I are going to watch it!  There will be great disappointment in this household if Mondo doesn’t win, but either way I think he has a bright future.  It’s been a long time since I was so excited by a Project Runway contestant.  Admittedly, his favorite things are also mine – mixed geometric prints, high waists, and color! I mean, I really liked Seth Aaron who won last season, but the last designer I recall really loving was Chris March (who is getting his own reality show on Bravo – I can’t wait!)