Uncategorized

Simplicity 1615

Simplicity 1615
Pattern:Simplicty 1615

Fabric:: Swiss Dot lawn from Joann Fabrics

Notes:

This was one of my favorite of the new Summer Simplicity patterns, so I knew I had to make it up right away!

I’ve seen a lot of woven tops in the stores this season.  There are still plenty of knits of course (and my next top is a knit!) but the blouse seems to be having a moment.  I hardly own any blouses, as I have a very hard time finding the right length in the quality I prefer.  I have a long torso and shorter legs, plus I’m pear shaped and I prefer tops to cover past my widest part (if I’m wearing with slim pants, as I am here).  Making tops means I can add length.  I added 3 inches to this one, though I might remove and inch.  I’m undecided, as I pretty much love it the way it is, even if it is a little longer than some of my shirts!

The collar, which is invisible on the pattern cover, is the nicest bit:
Simplicity 1615

It was much simpler than I thought it would be!  I constructed the straight seams on the serger, and made my own bias tape to enclose the neckline.  The shirt has a really nice clean finish on the interior.  I like the sleeve detail:

Simplicity 1615 detail

The fabric is a lightweight cotton lawn/swiss dot that I found on the clearance table at Joann’s.  It’s slightly sheer, but not too bad.

I really love this top – it feels modern, but with the print it still feels like me!   This is not an outfit I would have ever worn 2 years ago… it’s funny how things change!

Next up: Vogue 8866 (the skirted version) in a kelly green bamboo jersey.

 Simplicity 1615

 

12 thoughts on “Simplicity 1615

  1. Love this top – the fabric is very pretty, and love that neckline. I also prefer my tops a bit longer like this and it’s hard to find them in the shops. Great job!

  2. Great blouse! I love that woven tops are having a moment, I think they are so pretty and a nice change from fitted knit tops.

  3. Very cute top on you. I didn’t notice this pattern when it was released, but I picked it up at the last sale when I noticed it laying out. I love the collar detail. I so wish blouses were having their big moment when I was in postpartum and breastfeeding. All I seemed to find then were tight, ill-fitting knit tops. I wasn’t sewing for myself then.

Leave a comment