crafts · patterns · Sewing

New vintage reissues!

Butterick and New Look have released their Spring patterns.  New Look doesn’t have anything I’m interested in, but there were a few patterns I really liked from Butterick, including new vintage reissues!   Here are my picks:

5605 and 5603 are the new vintage releases.  Both are on my spring/summer sewing list.  I like the open back on 5605, and both the version with bows and the tie sleeves on 5603.  Either could be a day dress, though on the site 5603 is made up bridesmaid style.  I love 50s dresses!

5606 is the second infinite dress I’ve seen this year (there is another in the spring Burda patterns.)    I was obsessed with the infomercials for the infinite dress in the early 90s, so I’m pretty sure I need one of these.  I do wonder how it looks from the back – the panels appear to wrap from back there, and unlike some infinity dresses the dress isn’t strapless.

There are also these two new Suzi Chin patterns:

The product shot for the trench dress isn’t so good, but the drawing is super cute.   The trench dress seems to be having a moment right now, and this one looks cute (the modeled shot is less cute, but look at the potential!)  I already bought the new McCall’s trench dress pattern, but I will probably get this one as well – it is quite different.  I also really like the halter-neck dress above, but I won’t be buying it – halters do not flatter me, but if they work for you I think this is a cute option!  Love the pockets in the pleats.

Fridays are a day off for me, and I spent my day off at the eye doctor’s.  I went to a new doctor, because my old office was one of those places with multiple doctors, and I felt like they never knew who I was.  I was very excited that the new doctor had a special camera to take photos of my eyes, rather than use the dilation drops – so much better!  Eye doctors are fond of trying to convince me that I should get lasik, but I’m not so sure I’m down with that.  Yes, my eyes are bad (left eye is -9, and the right is -6.5.)  I just don’t like the idea of having surgery on my eyes, and then possibly still needing glasses.  It’s true that I would like my eyes to be more even (I have the hardest time with glasses for that reason!) but I’m not sure the investment would be worth it for me.  I did get a new glasses prescription (still waiting on my try-on frames, the company was mentioned in the NY Times and they are slammed with orders!) and a new type of contact lenses to try.

On the way home I stopped at Joann’s to see if the new Vogues were in for the sale.  They were, and these are my choices:

I already have fabric for the two Tracy Reese dresses and the Donna Karan knit dress.   I also saw the new Burdas, which looked very nice.  I have yet to make a Burda pattern (I only own one) but maybe this will be the year!  I might go ahead and start spring sewing soon – I will be ready when warm weather finally arrives!

 

17 thoughts on “New vintage reissues!

  1. I love when you go over when new patterns come out. I would never keep track of it on my own and you always pick out ones that I think are great!

    1. oh, i’m so jealous the joann’s by you had the new vogues out for the sale! i haven’t seen the new ones at ours yet. i LOVE the tracy reese dresses.

  2. What kind of knit do you plan on using for the Donna Karan dress? I’m searching high and low for something that is a knit, but also dressy enough for a wedding – the knits at my fabric store are kind of blah.

    1. Right now I’m planning to use a doubleknit, but that might change. I think doubleknits (not too heavy, with lycra content) work for this sort of dress because you can’t see everything through them, but they have good recovery (I made a similar dress with interlock, and that was a mistake – no recovery at all!)

      1. Thanks for the info, that sounds good! I’ve never worked with a doubleknit, but was thinking it would be good for the qualities you listed. I just made a muslin out of a poly/lycra knit, and while it’s got the right stretch, it’s way too lightweight to stand up in the collar, even with the French ribbon. But I think one of the reasons they really want you to use a knit is because there are some unfinished seams – they have you trim the facing around the collar and armholes, and leave the raw edges. I don’t like that, and I think I’m going to try another muslin using some poly stretch satin, to see how that works.

  3. You got both of the ones I got! lol (The Shirtdress and the flowery knit one). I can’t to start sewing them, but first I’m tackling my “spring palette”. Either way, this season has me excited.

    Regarding the Lasik, my vision is just as bad as yours (-7.5 in one and -6.5 in the other), but my thoughts are different. I figure even if my vision doesn’t turn out perfectly, it’d probably be good enough to be able to function without glasses at a basic level. Whereas now, if I wake up and my glasses aren’t exactly where I left them I freak out a little because it’s so hard to find them when the world is just a blur. (Is that just me? lol) Anyway, Lasik isn’t something to be taken lightly, but that’s just my line of reasoning…

  4. I am very interested in the infinity dress in the new spring collection. My list is very short but there is a few that caught my eye, I will have a very happy sewing spring/summer.

  5. I love the Pamella Roland with the ruffled bottom and am tempted to give it try too! I can’t wait to see your results!

  6. I’m looking forward to seeing how these turn out, and NO WAY would I do Lasik. I’m 20/200, 20/400. I’ve talked to people who weren’t pleased with the results.

  7. Just came across your post and I love the vintage reissues 🙂

    My vision is terrible, too: -6 and -6.5. I was told to wait until my eyes stabilized to get Lasik, which hasn’t happened yet. I guess they’re having good results with poorer vision but you only get one chance.

Leave a comment