crafts · finished objects · knitting

FO: Lozenge socks

Pattern: Gentleman’s sock with Lozenge Pattern from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush

Yarn: SeeJayneKnit superwash merino in green tea

Needles: Knitpicks Metal DPNs, size 0

Mods: I knit only 2 sets of ribbing repeats, and 6.5 repeats of the pattern on the leg.  I also reduced to cast on number to 60 stitches.

Notes: These socks turned out pretty well, and I’m glad to have finally gotten around to the pattern I bought the book for.  What I like: The ribbing, the purl row in the middle is very distinctive and pretty.  The pattern, which was not hard but gives a nice effect.  The yarn – it was not a really skinny sock yarn, and it didn’t split easily, plus the color is just lovely!  What I didn’t like:  The seam stitch.  Yes, I know that most Nancy Bush patterns call for this, but I just don’t get the point at all.  In the future I will leave it out entirely.  The pattern also called for purl stitches surrounding the pattern on the foot, and I did do those, but if I had the choice again I would leave them out.  They don’t add anything to the sock.

Emily is almost to the armholes in the back, but I have no photo as it isn’t very exciting yet.  Perhaps once the back is blocked!

And true to my word I have started another pair of socks.

I reduced the cast on to 60 stitches again, because I have skinny ankles.  I’m very happy with how this yarn is knitting up, in lovely little stripes with no pooling.  I don’t know about the tencel in the yarn… it seems pretty inelastic for a sock yarn, but we will see!