crafts · knitting · patterns · yarn

In with the new

 While I’m waiting on my dinner (soup) to cook, I thought I would have a little update on what’s up around here!

Clapotis is finished, but no photos yet – I’m trying to finish dropping all those stitches.  Karaoke looks pretty in the pattern, but oh boy is it ever sticky!  But that has freed me up to begin a new large project.  I thought about starting the Drops Swing jacket, but I find myself feeling very unenthused about the project – really, I think the reason I haven’t started is that I don’t know about the silhouette on me.  I like A-line and all, but I fear looking swallowed by the coat.  But I do like the Taconic Pullover from Valley Yarns, which is written for the Williamstown.  So I will maybe reserve my yarn for that.

In the meantime, I have begun Emily, from Kim Hargreaves’ new book.

 

The color is more true in the first photo.  It is a very saturated color, but not bright the way it looks in the 2nd photo.  I’m using Cascade Venezia Worsted, a wool/silky blend that has a really lovely feel to it.  This is the back, and there are eyelet rows, although they aren’t so apparent here… I trust they will block wider.  The pattern is lovely, although I did find an error… in the schematic drawing it lists 15″ as the total length of the sweater, but it’s the length to the armholes (thank goodness – I was trying to work out how a sweater could be that short!)  Mine will look quite different from the model, but neutral beige is not my thing.  I love my deep colors!

I’m working hard to finish up my second Lozenge sock – I am past the gusset, so if I am lucky it will be finished by tomorrow.  Does anyone have any advice for me about a sock problem?  My picked up stitches at the gusset always look all elongated on one side.  I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong!

I want to finish it so that I can cast on for another pair of socks – Dublin Bay socks in Merino/tencel by Mama Llama in the Fall Leaves colorway.

I like the idea of making socks for holidays, so these will be my “Thanksgiving” socks, although I doubt they will be done by then.  Ah well – it counts if they are worked on during Thanksgiving!  I love the color, and I’m anxious to try a merino/tencel sock yarn, as there are several I’m dying to try out, and my love for tencel is well documented.

I’m going to swatch for the endpaper mitts soon too.  I already learned the tubular cast on , which wasn’t as fiddly as I feared (I learned the regular one, not the fancy one called for in the pattern.)  I’m excited to learn color work, as I’ve really been enamored by several color work patterns of late… notably the Colette pullover from the current IK (love the kitty cats) and the Ivy League vest from the same.