crafts · finished objects · Sewing

FO: Simplicity 2896

Pattern: Simplicity 2896

Fabric: 2 yards of 60″ wide metallic linen

Notes: Every summer I buy myself a pair of linen pants.  Usually they are wide legged and have a drawstring waist, and by mid summer they are so stretched out that I am in constant danger of my pants falling off.  This summer I thought I would try something different and make my own!  I decided on this pattern because it had wide legs, but lacked the drawstring waist (I’ve never cared for that sort of waist treatment.)  I had bought this fabric for a jacket, but quickly realized that it needed to be nowhere near my face (I don’t look good in beige) so I decided this fabric would be my summer pants.

I made a muslin of the size 10, and decided that I needed a little more room in the waist.  On the finished pants, it turns out that I could have stuck to the straight size 10 – these fit a little below my natural waist, but I think they would be nicer at the natural waist.  I had some issues with attaching the facing, as I mentioned in my last post, but they worked out otherwise.  I’m especially proud of the fly zipper!

I really wanted to make this whole project on my new Singer Rocketeer, but there were a few places that didn’t work – on the zipper I had to use my other machine, as I don’t have a zipper foot yet, and I needed the walking foot when attaching the facing.  The pattern calls for sandwiching the belt carriers in between the facing and the pants, and that made for about a million layers of fabric to sew together.  The Bernina is a champ when it comes to thick fabrics, especially with the walking foot attached.  I actually would not put the belt loops in there if I made the pants again – it’s too thick, and the facing really wants to roll out around them.  But this is a thick fabric, and it might be fine in something thinner.

I made the self-fabric tie belt, but I like the pants better with a scarf belt to reduce bulk.  They also look nice with the shirt untucked, but I wanted to show the whole thing!  I ironed the fabric before prewashing it, a Sandra Betzina tip to minimize future wrinkling.  I don’t know if it works, but for linen these pants don’t wrinkle too badly.

The metallic linen wasn’t fun.  I didn’t use my scissors at all, because I was afraid of dulling them (metallic threads can kill scissors, something I know from embroidery.)  It killed a rotary blade, but I managed.  My serger didn’t like this fabric at all, so I put the knife down and trimmed with the rotary cutter, then serged.  I didn’t want to dull the serger knife either.  It is a pretty fabric though – it looks different under different lights – very shiny at night, but only a subtle sparkle in the daytime.

They aren’t the most slimming pants ever, but that wasn’t really the point of them – I wanted a pair of breezy casual summer linen pants, and I got them!  They look best with tops with a bit of drape – I tried them with some close fitting tanks, and it was not a good look – very unbalanced from top to bottom.  I do recommend the pattern, but consider altering the belt loops, and watch for the facing instructions – it might have been just me, but I had issues!

15 thoughts on “FO: Simplicity 2896

  1. Look, here http://www.sahalie.com/jump.jspitemType=PRODUCT&itemID=14525
    are your pants selling for $60.00 in the Sahalie catalog. I have been trying to achieve this look so your pattern review jumped off the screen at me. The pattern I chose, Kwik Sew 3625, also wasn’t what I would call slimming but I think yours are, maybe we’re both wrong! You can’t beat linen for a nice drape. Sorry you had to muddle through the metallic thread problem. I think your summer pants look great on you.

  2. Very nicely done! I think they look fabulous on you. The metallic linen is the perfect touch for the summer breezy look you wanted. Your longer length hair makes this look reminescent of the 70s Charlie’s Angels. You look amazing.

  3. The pants look fantastic! I wish I could find pants like that in the store (since I don’t sew); I’d buy multiple pairs.

    Your longer hair looks so pretty, and the green blouse sets off the red color nicely.

  4. Perfect fit – the back looks really smooth and perfect!

    If the belt loops are causing the facing to roll out, you might be able to try a bar tack at the top of the belt loop (have a look at some jeans for reference). Hopefully it is not too thick for your machines!

    Love your green top too – it suits you very well!

  5. I have question about this muslin you always mention. You apparently make a muslin for everything you make, can you explain what that is? I learned to sew a long time ago and we didnt learn this..of course that was an junior high home ec class.

  6. They’re fabulous! I love linen pants, but it’s hard to find flattering ones. Those are perfect on you with your slim build–I really like the wide legs. Very chic. I’m so impressed!

  7. The fit is very good. They look nice on you.

    I just completed fitting the pant, so I though. I’m very high in the rear and low in the front. I made the adjustment for my rear. However, I’m considering lowering the front but I’m afraid that there will not be much room for the pockets.

Leave a comment