Uncategorized

New Vogues at last!

I’ve been stalking the website for weeks, seriously.  My diligence was rewarded – I love the new patterns!  There is a lot of assymmetry, which I’m finally coming around on, and lots of patterns for knits/ponte, which suits my current preferences.  Here are my favorites:

Designer Patterns

1280, Donna Karan Design

It’s funny – before I started sewing I would not have considered myself a Donna Karan fan.  Now that I’ve sewed several of her designs, I recognize her skills.  I love the straps on this dress – they are unusual without being too crazy and strappy.  It’s very wearable I think – in ponte knit the form fitting details should work!

 

1287, DKNY

This season’s awesome DKNY dress.  I like this a lot – and I like that it comes with a slip pattern.  Giant pockets are a plus… it’s like a more wearable version of the Vena Cava dress I made last summer.

1285, Tracy Reese

Love her designs.  This dress is particularly wearable I think!

1286, also Tracy Reese

Love the back.  Odd that they have a different model in the back view!  I don’t know where I would wear this, but I’d imagine I could find somewhere!  The seaming on the bust is really neat, and is lost a little in that print.

1283

Do I like this?  I think I do.  The seaming is fun and trendy.  I worry about her arm placement in these photos, as it looks like there might be a fit issue.  This one I will need to see made up before I can decide.

8784

This is a great basic dress (I think it’s also a wrap style – lots of those this spring!)

 

8791

I love this one!  The assymetrical hemline looks more modern than weird.  I would wear it with slim pants like the model (and I have a ton of cotton shirting ready to be made up!  However, let’s take a moment to pity that poor model’s hair, which has been tortured into a most unnatural shape (seriously though, I’m glad to see this model back, as I think she’s so pretty!)

8790

How elegant is this top?  I love the low side ruching and the elegant neckline.  I will definitely pick this one up!

8792

This is really cute in stripes.  It would be considerably less interesting in another print, but I think this is a time where I might copy the envelope!

Vintage Vogue

I like these much better than the last few batches.  Shortened to a more modern length, both are very wearable.

 

The blue dress is actually a wrap style.  I can’t tell if it’s similar to the famous walkaway dress or not.  Either way – cute!  Love the styling on these too, as I covet a pair of cat eye sunglasses (only my husband’s horror has prevented me from buying actual prescription cat eye glasses to wear all the time!)

So, strong collections from both McCall’s and Vogue this year… I can’t wait to see the Butterick patterns!  I love sewing for warm weather – the colors and patterns appeal to me far more than winter.  In the winter I just want to hibernate, so that’s mostly what I do!