crafts · finished objects · Sewing

Butterick 5603 – now with modeled photos!

The weather actually decided to warm up, so I was able to get modeled photos of the Butterick vintage pattern.  I find that a few days distance does wonders for my opinion of a pattern, and this is no different.  I was a little lukewarm at first, but now I love it!  Even the shoulder ties look nice to me now.  Of course, it helps that I bought shoes to go with the dress (shoes are my lone shopping indulgence!)  These are called Kendale, and they are from Jessica Simpson.  Are they comfortable?  Not exactly, but they aren’t uncomfortable either!  They are a bit stiff, but I expect they will break in nicely.

The low back is really nice.  What I really love is that you can wear a normal bra with this dress, but it gives the illusion of being bare.

Without a crinoline is still hangs nicely, as you can see above.  The linen is very cool to wear, and with the addition of cotton in the blend it doesn’t wrinkle much at all.  I think I could have actually made the waist an inch smaller, but I’m happy with it – I don’t like a tight waist!  Once again, this pattern is highly recommended – it’s really easy for a vintage pattern, and the directions are excellent!

16 thoughts on “Butterick 5603 – now with modeled photos!

  1. Jessica,
    I love everything about the dress; fabric, pattern and it fits you beautifully. I love the shoes; perfect, and I LOVE the wrought iron kitty cat, so cute!
    diana

  2. This looks so lovely on you!

    Thank you so much for posting these photos! I bought B5603 to make for a wedding later in the year, but started to doubt my choice when it arrived, I thought it looked far too bridesmaid-y! But you’ve proved to me that as long as you choose the right fabric and shorten the dress, it’s great!

Leave a comment