decorating · home repairs · house · rennovation · rennovations

Sewing room update

Painting trim (if you wish to do it correctly!) takes quite a long time.  If taking trim from bare wood, I use 2 full coats of primer (I like Zisser Coverstain) and 2 full coats of paint (I like Behr ultra premium in semi-gloss).  I sand between each coat, and fill all nicks and holes with a good filler (not the cheap DAP stuff) between coats of primer, and caulk between coats of paint.  In the past week I’ve done all that, and now the room is ready for real paint this weekend.  It went from this:

Windows before

to this:

Untitled

the trim in this room was in pretty awful shape – I replaced half of it because whole pieces were missing (the people before us had dogs, and they shredded the trim.)  The windows need to be replaced, but that’s not in the budget right now.  The trim on this floor was originally painted when the house was built, but in the 80s (when everyone wanted natural trim) someone stripped it, and never bothered to finish the wood.  Wood is never the same after paint is stripped anyway, and after 30 years of weather exposure, it was especially bad (not to mention it wasn’t stain grade to start with!)

Anyway, I’m very happy – and now I’m picking paint!  I want a pale blue green, sort of a tiffany blue:
Untitled

This color is scuba green by Benjamin Moore with just a little more white added.  It looks a little strange on the wall, since the purple reflects on it, but it looks great when painted on a swatch or poster board in the room, so I think it’s good!  I may end up just getting the next lighter shade on the card.

It’s important for me to choose a lighter color because I sew at night a lot.  With dark walls, there isn’t enough light in the room.

Speaking of light, I’m replacing this awful ceiling fan:

Old ceiling fan

I hate this thing.  It only takes one light bulb (max 60 watts) so it isn’t useful, and I think the design on the blades looks like evil sheepdogs.

I ordered this replacement from overstock.com:

chandelier

I figure, if you can’t have a chandelier in you sewing room, then where can you?  It takes 4 bulbs, which should be an upgrade.  I have ott lights for ironing and cutting anyway.

I’m still considering my project table options.  I like the idea of using the expedit cubes, but I’m thinking building my own might be better – then I can have the size and height that I want!  For now, I will probably bring my foldable table down and use it while I try to decide on my options.

So, I haven’t done any sewing, but I’ve made great progress on my new space – I am so excited!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Sewing room update

  1. Love your choices!! It’s going to be such a bright, inspiring room when you’re done. We just bought an 80s house so, we’re right there with you with all the priming, sanding, updating… it is a lot of work but, always worth it in the end.

  2. The chandelier is gorgeous! I laughed so hard at the fan blades looking like “evil sheepdogs”. They do look like sheepdogs!

  3. Ooh I feel so lazy now! I literally just plonked all if my stuff in a room and called it my craft room!! I’m going to enjoy watching your room come together!! Feel free to pop over to my our blog and have a look at my room (although as I say it’s not as detailed as yours will be!!) x

  4. That’s pretty much the same color I painted my sewing room, so of course I approve! The chandelier is lovely… I’m going to consider something similar for my bathroom.

  5. Oh man, yes the evil sheepdogs have to go! I saw them immediately too! I love the idea of having a special light fixture in your sewing room. I’m so envious of your room in general, it’s going to be fab!

  6. I want to update my sewingroom too. But I do have a chandelier in the smaller size. And this might sound strange, but I want a painting on my ceiling. A small little cherub a la Disneys Beauty and the Beast.

Leave a comment